Ginger Carrot Soup by Jean Carper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Yummy! Served it cold with garlic chives sprinkled on top. I did cut the OJ to 1/4 cup which I think helped to emphasize the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
The texture was perfect. The sweet smell and taste were delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I served this for a group of friends and it was a great hit. Even their little one year old loved it. It was a little too gingery for my taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This is a tasty soup! I did make a few changes, however: 1 onion instead of 2, used a liberal amount of "pumpkin spice" instead of just cinnamon (pumpkin spice = cinnamon, nutmeg, and something else?), added one tsp. of salt, fresh ginger instead of candied, two dashes of cayenne pepper for spice, the juice of one fresh navel orange instead of OJ, and lastly, I used 1/4 cup real whipping cream and a little bit of skim milk. I will definitely make this again! Be sure to blend it well; the end result is better than at some of the top restaurants I've eaten in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
i can only give 4 stars because i made some changes. first, i only made it with 1 onion and real cream with the juice of 1 orange, second, i added less cream cause it didnt need after the orange juice.this recipie is sooooooooooo good with those changes. I WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This was a great soup - up to the point that I added the last two ingredients at which point it stopped being ginger carrot soup and became cream of orange juice soup. Not that I have a problem with oj - except maybe as a soup. It's still a good recipe as written but I really couldn't taste the carrot. Next time I'll skip the juice -maybe play with doubling the chicken broth and then decide if I want to add the fat-free half&half after pureeing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I liked this soup well enough, but my family was not particularly impressed. I didn't use OJ but rather peeled and quartered 2 seedless oranges and cooked them along with the carrots (removing their remnants before pureeing the soup). I also used 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg and heavy cream rather than Half and Half. I used chicken boullion cubes to make my broth (3 cubes to 2 cups of water) and fresh ginger, grated. I did use 2 onions, but think, perhaps, 1 or 1-1/2 even would have been better. Overall, a "successful" recipe but not the best this site (or my personal recipe box) has to offer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I'm a huge fan of butternut squash type soups, and I found this to be a yummy, comfort-food recipe. Per other reviews, I only added 1 Tbsp of OJ, and that added plenty of orange flavor. I also reduced the half and half to 1/2 cup, and only used one yellow onion. I used regular 1/2 and 1/2, and fresh grated ginger. It was creamy and delicious! Make sure to puree in the blender well, so you get a creamy texture. I will most likely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Good start but I also chose to elminate the OJ and right before serving I added fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Humes Olson
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I only used 1/2 of 1 onion. When it was done, it was completely overpowered by the orange juice taste, so I cooked another carrot in some broth, pureed it, and added it in to get the carrot flavor back again! Very tasty after tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Humes Olson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States