Ginger Carrot Soup by Jean Carper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This is great with a few changes...one small onion is plenty and use maybe do with extra carrots- a 1 1/2 lb instead- and try it w/ real cream! Used about 2 tsp fresh ginger, grated, rather than the crystalized. Very tasty- and just what I was looking for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This was a great soup - up to the point that I added the last two ingredients at which point it stopped being ginger carrot soup and became cream of orange juice soup. Not that I have a problem with oj - except maybe as a soup. It's still a good recipe as written but I really couldn't taste the carrot. Next time I'll skip the juice -maybe play with doubling the chicken broth and then decide if I want to add the fat-free half&half after pureeing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I loved this recipe. I used 2 lbs of carrots and a little more stock so I would have some left over to freeze. I omitted the cinnamon, OJ and half & half as not to lose the carrot taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This is a tasty soup! I did make a few changes, however: 1 onion instead of 2, used a liberal amount of "pumpkin spice" instead of just cinnamon (pumpkin spice = cinnamon, nutmeg, and something else?), added one tsp. of salt, fresh ginger instead of candied, two dashes of cayenne pepper for spice, the juice of one fresh navel orange instead of OJ, and lastly, I used 1/4 cup real whipping cream and a little bit of skim milk. I will definitely make this again! Be sure to blend it well; the end result is better than at some of the top restaurants I've eaten in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This was okay. I like the flavor the juice gives the soup, but it definitely overpowered the carrots and ginger. I agree with a previous review about this being 'orange juice soup'. I might make this again, but not without changes to bring this back to 'ginger carrot soup'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
The texture was perfect. The sweet smell and taste were delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Two onions is too many for this recipe. Mine came out very oniony, overpowering the carrot taste. I suggest adding just one onion. Also, while the cinnamon adds a nice touch of flavor, the brown-tinted spice discolors the soup. Mine went from a deep hearty orange to an unappetizing ochre after the addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Wish I'd read the reviews first. My instincts said that the oj would overpower it and it did. How can so many rate this 4 stars, then change the recipe so much?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
i can only give 4 stars because i made some changes. first, i only made it with 1 onion and real cream with the juice of 1 orange, second, i added less cream cause it didnt need after the orange juice.this recipie is sooooooooooo good with those changes. I WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Yummy! Served it cold with garlic chives sprinkled on top. I did cut the OJ to 1/4 cup which I think helped to emphasize the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States