Ginger Carrot Soup by Jean Carper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This is great with a few changes...one small onion is plenty and use maybe do with extra carrots- a 1 1/2 lb instead- and try it w/ real cream! Used about 2 tsp fresh ginger, grated, rather than the crystalized. Very tasty- and just what I was looking for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
The texture was perfect. The sweet smell and taste were delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This was a great soup - up to the point that I added the last two ingredients at which point it stopped being ginger carrot soup and became cream of orange juice soup. Not that I have a problem with oj - except maybe as a soup. It's still a good recipe as written but I really couldn't taste the carrot. Next time I'll skip the juice -maybe play with doubling the chicken broth and then decide if I want to add the fat-free half&half after pureeing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I loved this recipe. I used 2 lbs of carrots and a little more stock so I would have some left over to freeze. I omitted the cinnamon, OJ and half & half as not to lose the carrot taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This was okay. I like the flavor the juice gives the soup, but it definitely overpowered the carrots and ginger. I agree with a previous review about this being 'orange juice soup'. I might make this again, but not without changes to bring this back to 'ginger carrot soup'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
great teast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Yummy recipe. I topped with a dollop of sour cream sprinkled with ground nutmeg. This is a great soup for those cold nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was ok, not the best ever, but still quite good served its purpose. Mine came out more like spicy clumpy orange juice than carrot soup. I think maybe less juice more milk/broth and it may turn out better.(I subsituted low fat milk for the cream.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I served this for a group of friends and it was a great hit. Even their little one year old loved it. It was a little too gingery for my taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I liked this soup well enough, but my family was not particularly impressed. I didn't use OJ but rather peeled and quartered 2 seedless oranges and cooked them along with the carrots (removing their remnants before pureeing the soup). I also used 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg and heavy cream rather than Half and Half. I used chicken boullion cubes to make my broth (3 cubes to 2 cups of water) and fresh ginger, grated. I did use 2 onions, but think, perhaps, 1 or 1-1/2 even would have been better. Overall, a "successful" recipe but not the best this site (or my personal recipe box) has to offer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States