Ginger Carrot Soup by Jean Carper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Good start but I also chose to elminate the OJ and right before serving I added fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I'm a huge fan of butternut squash type soups, and I found this to be a yummy, comfort-food recipe. Per other reviews, I only added 1 Tbsp of OJ, and that added plenty of orange flavor. I also reduced the half and half to 1/2 cup, and only used one yellow onion. I used regular 1/2 and 1/2, and fresh grated ginger. It was creamy and delicious! Make sure to puree in the blender well, so you get a creamy texture. I will most likely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I liked this soup well enough, but my family was not particularly impressed. I didn't use OJ but rather peeled and quartered 2 seedless oranges and cooked them along with the carrots (removing their remnants before pureeing the soup). I also used 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg and heavy cream rather than Half and Half. I used chicken boullion cubes to make my broth (3 cubes to 2 cups of water) and fresh ginger, grated. I did use 2 onions, but think, perhaps, 1 or 1-1/2 even would have been better. Overall, a "successful" recipe but not the best this site (or my personal recipe box) has to offer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I served this for a group of friends and it was a great hit. Even their little one year old loved it. It was a little too gingery for my taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was ok, not the best ever, but still quite good served its purpose. Mine came out more like spicy clumpy orange juice than carrot soup. I think maybe less juice more milk/broth and it may turn out better.(I subsituted low fat milk for the cream.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Yummy recipe. I topped with a dollop of sour cream sprinkled with ground nutmeg. This is a great soup for those cold nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
great teast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This was okay. I like the flavor the juice gives the soup, but it definitely overpowered the carrots and ginger. I agree with a previous review about this being 'orange juice soup'. I might make this again, but not without changes to bring this back to 'ginger carrot soup'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I loved this recipe. I used 2 lbs of carrots and a little more stock so I would have some left over to freeze. I omitted the cinnamon, OJ and half & half as not to lose the carrot taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This was a great soup - up to the point that I added the last two ingredients at which point it stopped being ginger carrot soup and became cream of orange juice soup. Not that I have a problem with oj - except maybe as a soup. It's still a good recipe as written but I really couldn't taste the carrot. Next time I'll skip the juice -maybe play with doubling the chicken broth and then decide if I want to add the fat-free half&half after pureeing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States