Ginger Beef Curry (Slow Cooker Version) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I also feel as though this recipe is highly underrated! It turned out absolutely fantastic and I followed the recipe quite closely. Everyone enjoyed this supper immensely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Bitter, no depth of flavor. Stay away from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I was surprised to find such mixed reviews on this recipe. I threw this surprisingly simple recipe together last Sunday and let it simmer all day - what a delicious treat in the evening! NO bitter aftertaste was present for us. I followed the recipe pretty closely, though I didn't layer quite as suggested, rather I stirred all spice ingredients into tomato paste mixture, then mixed it up with the beef & onion - I didn't have ground coriander...also as with almost everything we make, I squeazed lime juice over it before cooking, and added more/tweaked the spices as the day wore on. This was a very underrated dish in my opinion which yielded beautiful results for my family. Thanks ChezDeb! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
i tried this recipe today and was hoping that it turn out well since it smelled okay. My friend and I took one bite out it and didn't like it. It had a bitter after taste that I tried to drown out with strawberry daiquiri. I don't recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This did not turn out well for me. The meat did not have flavor and spices were very bitter. Made it to the letter, will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I have made this twice. First time was bad with the onions so small. Second time, cubed the onion. It was a bit better, but still not good. Meat had no taste at all. The only saving this recipe was that I had a fatty piece of meat which made enough broth to pour over the meat and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I thought it would be right up my DH's alley as he really likes curry and ginger. It was very bitter when I tested it, so I added a little sugar which sweetened it a bit, but really didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This wasn't to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
for some reason, this came out tasting very bitter. the beef got stuck to the sides of my slow cooker and, though the spices were very fragrant, it didn't have much of a taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
my picky Jamaican curry loving husband requested this to be a regular! I won't complain as this is so tasty and easy to make, and if it makes him happy, I'm happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States