Ginataang Manok (Chicken Cooked in Coconut Milk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I followed all instruction and tasted it. It was okay. The flavors blended well, I added garlic salt, curry powder, brown sugar and cayenne. Yummers!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rkbds7
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
It was a simple and delicious meal for one!I used a combination of powdered ginger and ground ginger, chicken pieces and one can of coconut milk and I used fresh spinach. I just used what I had on hand. Poured it over brown rice and had a meal in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkbds7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Great taste and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My partner and I made this twice. The first time was for a friend who is Phillipina. Her whole family loved this! We did made a couple of changes PLUS made this even faster for when you're in a pinch: 1)replace the oil with Coconut oil. Makes sense since you're already using coconut milk, and coconut oil has many health properties. 2)3 tbsp of oil is a bit much. Reduce to 2 or even less and its fine. 3) De-bone an already COOKED rotisserie chicken from the grocery store!!! You can then omit the places in this recipe that call for time to cook the chicken!!! Simple do the other steps, and add chicken towards the end to let it simmer and soak up the coconut and ginger! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CeenaSimon
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Followed the recipe, added paprika seasoning, papaya chunks & garlic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stafar49
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I added sayote instead of spinach, because my family's recipe uses some kind of local papaya. It was my Mom's favorite recipe growing up in the Philippines, so I was really thrilled to find this recipe! I also added fresh garlic and onion to the ginger, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Cooked this for the first time last night and it was delicious! I followed another's recommendation and used powdered spices for the garlic and ginger as I get home late from work and don't have alot of time to prep fresh ginger and garlic. Recipe came out fine. One modification I made was to season the chicken while browning with salt, pepper, garlic and ginger. Then, after I added the coconut milk (used 1 can for 2 lbs of chicken), I used more seasonings of salt, pepper, garlic and ginger to taste. Also threw in some sliced scallions together with coconut milk. After simmering chicken in coconut broth until tender, I then threw in pre-washed fresh spinach (much better than frozen spinach). Loved it! Will definitely be making this recipe again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I'm a young Filipino and have been trying to learn how to cook more Filipino food. I was happy to see that there were some recipes on this site. This was really easy to follow. My family and I thought it was pretty good. Although, I personally prefer stronger bolder flavors and I liked this much more the second day after I tweaked it with additional seasonings that were more to my liking. I would also use fresh spinach next time instead of frozen. All in all, a good recipe to start from. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Wonderful dish. I added sliced sauteed and browned button mushrooms. a little Hot Curry Paste during the cooking...and finished with chopped cilantro and Hot Pepper Flakes when served. Adds color and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Yumm-o! I'm new to using coconut milk in recipes, what a great introduction. Added more seasoning with an all spice blend we use at home and what a great meal was created. Ran out of spinach, used a mix veggie w/ corn, carrot, and green beans. Complimented well. Next time will try a vegetarian twist. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jallendaniels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States