Gina's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
This was the best pound cake I ever made. I am a baker, and this cake was great!!!! I use brown extra large eggs, which seem to make the cake even richer. I had never thought to use orange extract blended, with the other flavorings. It was simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
We made this one with our Brownie Troop for a Girl Scout event and it was easy to make (with children) and very tasty. Make sure the cream cheese and butter are at room temperature. Also, I add the extracts to the wet ingredients before stirring in the dry ones. It's easier that way. Finally, I increased the orange extract to 1 full teaspoon since we were aiming for an orange pound cake. Just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This is the best pound cake I have ever made or eaten. It was crisp on the outside - my family likes it that way. I used a decorative bundt pan and it did overflow so next time I will try a muffin pan for the extra that is left over. I also had to bake it longer. I took some to work and everyone wanted the recipe! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Being from the Czech republic- I know a lot about bundt cakes. I tried this one and it came out amazingly delicious. The perfect pound cake taste and flavor+ ideal moisture. Definitely 5 stars to this recipe and to Gina. PS: I made it 2 days ago and making a new one today since the whole cake is gone(two people)now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
The best ever. I made it for a family gathering and I experimented with amaretto liquor and I got great raves. The original recipe tastes great too with the orange flavoring. Thanks Gina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This is a recipe everyone should have in their files. Do not understand reviewers that said it didn't have enough flavor and wasn't moist. Definitely have to use butter and beating is very, very important. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I really like this recipe! The cake came out moist and had alot of flavor. I would recommend using room temperature butter and cream cheese. This gives the cake a lighter texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
A very moist and delicious cake - - - though personally would prefer a stronger flavor. Next time I will TRIPLE the amount of lemon and maybe even add some rind and real juice..... otherwise AWESOME - rich and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CdnJessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Okay, after many attempts at other recipes, this is the one that my fiance goes crazy for (he's the REAL pound cake lover)! It's moist and turns out beautifully every time I've made it. I noted that there are some folks that said it turned out dry and I can't understand how. This one is a keeper, for sure - both for taste & ease. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki_In_Simi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arleta, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This recipe is AMAZING! This was my first pound cake, and it turned out to be the best I have ever had! Very moist- and the orange/lemon flavor really gives it something extra! Thank you Gina for sharing this great recipe, I can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States