Gina's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
This was the best pound cake I ever made. I am a baker, and this cake was great!!!! I use brown extra large eggs, which seem to make the cake even richer. I had never thought to use orange extract blended, with the other flavorings. It was simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
One of the best pound cake recipes I've ever made. Moist and delicious. I had to bake the pound cake about 15-20 minutes longer than the recipe calls (probably due to my oven). Thank you Gina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
This was a very easy cake to make. It just took a little time beating in all 6 eggs on at a time, and also the cooking time and cooling time are long, so it's not real quick cake. I made it as a birthday cake that was served with ice cream and the toppings. It was way too rich to be served along side huge scope of ice cream with caramel and hot fudge and all the fixings. It is wonderfully favorful and very, very rich. When I make it again I will serve it with tea or coffee and with nothing served along side it except maybe some fresh, unsweetened berries. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
I made this cake for "strawberry shortcake" and it was delish! Very moist and I love the addition of lemon, orange, and vanilla extracts. This cake will be a wonderful staple to serve with chocolate sauce, seasonal fruit or whatever. I've never tried homemade pound cake and I'll never buy one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie Helgeson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
I tried your recipe and you were correct. It is the best pound cake I have ever had. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
An excellent tasting pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
Everyone loved it-the huge cake was gone in 2 sittings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
We thought this cake was good, but not the best. Does not have enough flavor. I think 2 tsp. of vanilla and 1 tsp. each of lemon and orange would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
My husband loved this cake. He wanted to rate it 6 stars! It smelled so good coming out of the oven that I was hard pressed to follow the directions and not to cut it then and there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
This is one great pound cake! Very easy to make and a great flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States