Gina's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This is a recipe everyone should have in their files. Do not understand reviewers that said it didn't have enough flavor and wasn't moist. Definitely have to use butter and beating is very, very important. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I really like this recipe! The cake came out moist and had alot of flavor. I would recommend using room temperature butter and cream cheese. This gives the cake a lighter texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I made this EXACTLY the way the recipe said and it was perfect. Doesn't have the oily moistness that store bought pound cake has. Drizzled a simple orange glaze made w/ 10x and orange juice concentrate and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
A very moist and delicious cake - - - though personally would prefer a stronger flavor. Next time I will TRIPLE the amount of lemon and maybe even add some rind and real juice..... otherwise AWESOME - rich and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CdnJessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I'm sorry to say-this cake was dry. I cooked it less time than indicated on the recipe so as to avoid dryness. The flavor is fine, but if I were to make it again, I would use oil instead of the butter. I'm certain this would make the cake much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Okay, after many attempts at other recipes, this is the one that my fiance goes crazy for (he's the REAL pound cake lover)! It's moist and turns out beautifully every time I've made it. I noted that there are some folks that said it turned out dry and I can't understand how. This one is a keeper, for sure - both for taste & ease. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki_In_Simi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arleta, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This turned out very well and the taste was absolutely delicious. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
My most favorite pound cake recipe. I tweak the flavorings as desired for different outcomes and it's always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is a wonderful pound cake. My familys favorite for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States