Gimlet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mochi Puffs
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
One of my favorite cocktails! I only used fresh lime juice. I don't think the sweetened would be very good but I like sour flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This drink was a hit! I used the Rose's sweet lime juice and it was perfect! I will definately be making this drink more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Excellent recipe for the classic & classy GIN gimlet (if you ask for a "gimlet" you will automatically get gin, as it was in the original cocktail). If you want vodka, you have to specifically request a VODKA gimlet. Also, "sweetened lime juice" is, in the 'bartender's guide', a generic term for the syrupy green bottled lime concoction most well-known as "Rose's Lime Juice". I am pretty sure "Dr. John" didn't mean fresh lime juice sweetened to taste. But I could be wrong . . . this is a lovely little cocktail! Thanks for reminding me, Dr. J!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nannajoanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
My abosolute favorite drink. A classic that you cannot go wrong with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
EASY, DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
mmm mmm, another reviewer said it best - "nothing goes better with gin than lime" amen to that. I used 2:1:1 lime infused gin, unsweetened lime juice, white sugar and gave it good shaking with about a cup of ice in my cocktail shaker. Now I want to go out and buy more gin and lime juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
One of my favorite drinks! I usually make mine 2:1 gin to Rose's Lime (the best sweetened lime juice), and garnish with a lime instead of the sugared rim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
Such a retro drink! It just makes you feel so sophisticated. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
ALMOST right. You definitely don't need the added white sugar if you use sweentend lime juice, unless you like it REALLY sweet like a soft drink. Go with straight lime juice and the white sugar OR the sweetened limes juice (like Rose's). Now that's the perfect Gimlet. No need to rim the glass...that's too froufrou and girly. I have a set of shimy aluminum "gimlet glasses" from my parents (and grandparents). I remember my parents and grandparents making a batch of Gimlets and drinking from these glasses. The condensation would form on the outside of the metal and create "sweat beads" in the hot weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Use Duffy's Lime Juice if you can find it. Best in Gimlets and Margaritas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whelchelfamily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gimlet Cocktail

See how to make a gimlet cocktail with vodka or gin.

Frosted Almond

See how to make a chilled down version of the toasted almond cocktail.

Rudy Snap Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake up a signature mezcal cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States