Gimlet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This wasn't very good. tasted like limeaid, not a gimlet. You're supposed to use Rose's Lime Juice AND fresh lime, and no sugar. I generally use vodka, too. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
EASY, DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
Such a retro drink! It just makes you feel so sophisticated. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
One of my favorite drinks! I usually make mine 2:1 gin to Rose's Lime (the best sweetened lime juice), and garnish with a lime instead of the sugared rim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This drink was a hit! I used the Rose's sweet lime juice and it was perfect! I will definately be making this drink more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I agree that gin and lime are a great combination! The gimlet is one of my favorite cocktails. This one is way too sweet for me, even without the added sugar. I usually use 1 sweetened lime juice and two parts gin. When I have fresh limes on hand, I like to use 2 oz. gin, 1/2 oz. Rose's, and 3/4 z. fresh lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mochi Puffs
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
One of my favorite cocktails! I only used fresh lime juice. I don't think the sweetened would be very good but I like sour flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
My abosolute favorite drink. A classic that you cannot go wrong with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Use Duffy's Lime Juice if you can find it. Best in Gimlets and Margaritas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whelchelfamily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
mmm mmm, another reviewer said it best - "nothing goes better with gin than lime" amen to that. I used 2:1:1 lime infused gin, unsweetened lime juice, white sugar and gave it good shaking with about a cup of ice in my cocktail shaker. Now I want to go out and buy more gin and lime juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gimlet Cocktail

See how to make a gimlet cocktail with vodka or gin.

Frosted Almond

See how to make a chilled down version of the toasted almond cocktail.

Rudy Snap Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake up a signature mezcal cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States