Gil's Brioche French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I used the brioche recipe on this site to make this french toast. My husband liked it but I thought it was bleh. The strawberry sauce was kind of tart. If I make it again I will add some sugar. The whipped cream wasn't too great but it may have been the heavy creamer I used. I will probably make this again but with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Sounds lovely, as I am about to prepare some French Toast, and thanks for posting. Happy Holidays, Margaux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I loved this recipe. I made a brioche recipe (gasp!) from another website because I didn't have enough eggs to make the recipe on this one. I'd like to try it again after a grocery trip . . . with a more authentic brioche, but I imagine this would be tasty with regular bread or even Texas toast. The flavors were simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I made brioche yesterday in culinary school and my professor said that it made the best french toast and I had to try it. I found this recipe (didn't use the toppings) and it was amazing. The brioche soaks up so much of the eggs and cream mixture that the final result is almost custardy. I can see why this is the true french bread for french toast! While I have enjoyed challah in the past for this, the enriched eggy butteriness of brioche is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made french toast twice yesterday. The first time was my amateur way of just dipping bread into eggs. Then found this recipe and tried it again for dinner after a visit to the store for the missing ingredients I needed. Just the smell alone told us how yummy we could expect this time would be. The taste blew us away - it was the first time my husband really had good french toast. I didn't even whip the cream right this time (so I dribbled it on like syrup) and it was still so delightful. I want to try to whip it next time. I did make a simple mistake, but I think it paid off - I added the sugar and vanilla to the egg/cream mixture so all that flavor soaked into the bread too. I made this using gluten-free bread and my husband even worried a little asking me which bread I used (due to allergy) because he couldn't believe it tasted so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarakyong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This recipe is AMAZING! My husband said that it is restaurant quality. I made a half batch and it was plenty for the two of us! The brioche is a great change up from regular bread. It is also great with raspberries or maple syrup! Thank you for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
a real crowd pleaser! so divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
if your looking to surprise your special someone with a beautiful decadent breakfast in bed try this recipe with the addition of banana's and a little Grand Marnier (to taste in the fruit while it makes its sweet syrup) HEAVEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This dish was incredible! I used Challah bread cut thickly. We (2 of us) gobbled down half a loaf! To save calories/fat I sauteed apples in margarine for the topping and omitted the whipped cream. Still decadent and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum! This was easy and delicious. I used the brioche recipe on this site to go with this and it was the best french toast ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States