Gilbert's Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This is a great recipe. One that you can alter to your taste. I personally like mine with lots of onion & garlic. What makes it even better is that the prep work is done before cooking-giving you more time to enjoy the day and less time slaving over the stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
Surprisingly good, and I don't like american cheese or bacon bits!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Very tasty potatoes. My sister, who doesn't like onions loved these! I'd use a lower flame setting. After 30 minutes they were a very dark brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
I actually use shredded cheddar cheese instead. It's very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mc Kees Rocks, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
This was wonderful! We used precooked bacon (we'd cooked 2 lbs before we went camping) and cheddar cheese. Also since we ended up making it at home (I got sick the day we were going to leave for camping so we left the next morning) my husband cooked it in a glass dish on the grill. The potatoes were wonderfully crip and it was so yummy! Scott even had an extra serving! I can't wait to try this whil camping! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Awesome side dish for the Grill!!! Spring-like temps had us grilling out yesterday and we needed a side dish for brats/burgers, salad and deviled eggs. This was it. Only things I did different--used 1/2 cup margarine and subbed shredded cheese for American slices. Will be using this frequently from now on.....Yummy! Thanks Jen, this is a wonderful, easy keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schafer5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
We loved this and i decided to try and make this while reducing the amount of potatoes in order to cut some of the carbs. So i decided to use half potatoes and half diced cabbage. Everything remained the same except i used real cheddar. This was delicious and still very filling with the cabbage added in. Will make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
Very, very, very good...just be sure to turn them once or twice while they are cooking. I used the Reynolds foil bag for this. Only serves 4 in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This recipe was wonderful. I did use cheddar cheese instead of american because my husband likes cheddar and it was great!! I will deffinately use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Okay, I made this super easy - used diced, frozen hash browns, pre-cooked bacon, and pre-grated co-jack cheese. And it was still a 5 star recipe! I cooked them in a cast iron pan on the grill, started them about 15 minutes before my steaks, and they all finished together. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States