Gilbert's Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2004
These were good, but think they can be improved by adding garlic, using grated sharp cheddar, and real bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
These are easy, simple and tasty. I actually baked them in the oven due to technical issues with our grill and they still turned out great. The cheese and bacon really add something to the dish. Make sure you spray your foil or all the cheese will stick and that is the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
We loved this and i decided to try and make this while reducing the amount of potatoes in order to cut some of the carbs. So i decided to use half potatoes and half diced cabbage. Everything remained the same except i used real cheddar. This was delicious and still very filling with the cabbage added in. Will make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was very yummy! As other reviewrs suggested I used cheddar cheese and only one stick of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
These were good, but I wasn't completely thrilled with the American cheese flavor. I think I would have liked it a bit more if there was another kind of cheese. I will make again, but change up to suit our personal tastes. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Awesome side dish for the Grill!!! Spring-like temps had us grilling out yesterday and we needed a side dish for brats/burgers, salad and deviled eggs. This was it. Only things I did different--used 1/2 cup margarine and subbed shredded cheese for American slices. Will be using this frequently from now on.....Yummy! Thanks Jen, this is a wonderful, easy keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schafer5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
I actually use shredded cheddar cheese instead. It's very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mc Kees Rocks, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This is a quick and super yummy addition to grilled chicken. My kids LOVED them. We added a little garlic powder and they were fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
excellent...I nuked my potatoes for 6 minutes because I was short on time and used sharp cheddar because we dont like american....YUMMY!! You might want to make sure you have sour cream for these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELBABY33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Okay, I made this super easy - used diced, frozen hash browns, pre-cooked bacon, and pre-grated co-jack cheese. And it was still a 5 star recipe! I cooked them in a cast iron pan on the grill, started them about 15 minutes before my steaks, and they all finished together. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States