Gilbert's Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2004
These were good, but think they can be improved by adding garlic, using grated sharp cheddar, and real bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
These are easy, simple and tasty. I actually baked them in the oven due to technical issues with our grill and they still turned out great. The cheese and bacon really add something to the dish. Make sure you spray your foil or all the cheese will stick and that is the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
We loved this and i decided to try and make this while reducing the amount of potatoes in order to cut some of the carbs. So i decided to use half potatoes and half diced cabbage. Everything remained the same except i used real cheddar. This was delicious and still very filling with the cabbage added in. Will make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was very yummy! As other reviewrs suggested I used cheddar cheese and only one stick of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
These were good, but I wasn't completely thrilled with the American cheese flavor. I think I would have liked it a bit more if there was another kind of cheese. I will make again, but change up to suit our personal tastes. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Awesome side dish for the Grill!!! Spring-like temps had us grilling out yesterday and we needed a side dish for brats/burgers, salad and deviled eggs. This was it. Only things I did different--used 1/2 cup margarine and subbed shredded cheese for American slices. Will be using this frequently from now on.....Yummy! Thanks Jen, this is a wonderful, easy keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schafer5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
I actually use shredded cheddar cheese instead. It's very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mc Kees Rocks, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Made a modified version of this for a party and everyone loved it! I baked it in the oven at 375 for 45 minutes (taking the foil off the last 5 - 10 minutes to let the cheese brown a bit). I used red potatoes and left the skin on. I used cheddar cheese and layered a bit throughout the potatoes. I also used soy Bacon, Bacon from Tastefully Simple instead of those imitation bacon bits. Lastly, I skipped the margarine and I mixed a little skim milk and a can of cream of mushroom soup and poured it over the layers before adding the cheese and bacon bits. I felt this would make it a bit creamier and kind of gel everything together. I'm going to try the original grill version in the spring when we get the grill out again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This is a quick and super yummy addition to grilled chicken. My kids LOVED them. We added a little garlic powder and they were fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
excellent...I nuked my potatoes for 6 minutes because I was short on time and used sharp cheddar because we dont like american....YUMMY!! You might want to make sure you have sour cream for these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELBABY33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States