Gilbert's Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
cooked as directed but added garlic and used cheddar cheese. GREAT! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Made a modified version of this for a party and everyone loved it! I baked it in the oven at 375 for 45 minutes (taking the foil off the last 5 - 10 minutes to let the cheese brown a bit). I used red potatoes and left the skin on. I used cheddar cheese and layered a bit throughout the potatoes. I also used soy Bacon, Bacon from Tastefully Simple instead of those imitation bacon bits. Lastly, I skipped the margarine and I mixed a little skim milk and a can of cream of mushroom soup and poured it over the layers before adding the cheese and bacon bits. I felt this would make it a bit creamier and kind of gel everything together. I'm going to try the original grill version in the spring when we get the grill out again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was very yummy! As other reviewrs suggested I used cheddar cheese and only one stick of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Too much margarine, too much onion, and again ... TOO MUCH MARGARINE.I even used half the margarine due to other reviews and it was too much. One onion is plenty, used shredded cheddar also. 4 stars with changes ... 2 star greasy mess without changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This is a quick and super yummy addition to grilled chicken. My kids LOVED them. We added a little garlic powder and they were fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Great recipe! We used real bacon bits. This would be a really good recipe to take camping! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Thanks for such a great recipe. I followed it exactly, and it turned out great! This will defintely be a usual side dish anytime I barbeque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
excellent...I nuked my potatoes for 6 minutes because I was short on time and used sharp cheddar because we dont like american....YUMMY!! You might want to make sure you have sour cream for these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELBABY33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
The first time I made this, the American cheese seperated into oil and orange goo. I ended up throwing out the entire pan. Since then, I have made the following changes: use a Reynold non-stick aluminim pan, grill the onions briefly before adding to the pan, use real bacon bits and use a 1/2 and 1.2 mix of sharp cheddar cheese and Colby Jack. We now love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States