Gigantes (Greek Lima Beans) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
WOW... This was such a great and tasty recipe... much better than expected... I love dill and that's why I made it plus I'm a vegetarian, so this was perfect for me. The flavor was REALLY good. Even my husband who doesn't like beans that much loved this recipe!!! The only changes I made were the following: * I cooked the beans for about 35 minutes instead of 20. * I used 1/4 cup of olive oil instead of 1 cup * I used 1 28-Ounce can of Muir Glen Organic Fire Roasted Crushed Tomato, and 4 garlic cloves instead of 2 (because I love garlic) THIS was sooooooooo YUMMY!!!!! I will be making this very often, even for parties!!! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarlaVeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I LOVE this recipe and can't seem to get enough of it. My husband and I had beans like this in Greece and I've been looking for a recipe for them ever since. This one is fabulous! I don't use nearly as much olive oil though--just a splash over the top, it really doesn't need it. Also, I usually just use canned beans because it's easier. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
So tasty. I was trying to cut fat/calories, so I used chicken broth instead of olive oil. I know if it was exact I would give it 5 stars, so that's what I rate it. The chicken broth version was still great to me. It was such a lovely flavor combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
When I went to the store, I bought an extra can of green lima beans because I thought the 16 oz. bag of dried lima beans didn't look like it would be enough to fill a 9x13 pan, but it was. I added a chicken boullion cube to the water when I was simmering the beans to give them a little more flavor, and I only added about 1/3 cup olive oil to reduce the fat. I used about 1 Tbsp fresh parsely instead of the dill. I baked them uncovered for 1 hr 30 min at 375, and did not need to add any extra liquid. I sprinkled feta cheese on top when I took them out of the oven. Everyone thought these were a good alternative to baked beans at the picnic I took them to. I like the recipe because it's really easy and does not involve much prep work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Make it all the time. We love it. I use oregano along with the dill. And feta sprinkled on top is delicious. We like it with crusty bread to wipe up the last bits. Nice with grilled Greek or Italian sausages for a hefty winter-time comfort meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
My husband really liked this recipe. I cooked the beans longer before adding the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very Good!!! I only used 1/3 cup of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Perhaps I don't have the palate that other reviewers seem to have, but I found this recipe bland and oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
AWESOME! I HATE LIMA BEANS AND LOVED THIS RECIPE! I LEFT OUT THE OLIVE OIL. DESERVES 10 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This is a really great recipe. It is such a winner that it overshadows the main dish! The beans that were on the top were a bit crunchy even after I added a little more water...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States