Gigantes (Greek Lima Beans) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
My husband really liked this recipe. I cooked the beans longer before adding the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
So tasty. I was trying to cut fat/calories, so I used chicken broth instead of olive oil. I know if it was exact I would give it 5 stars, so that's what I rate it. The chicken broth version was still great to me. It was such a lovely flavor combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Definitely a keeper. I followed the basic recipe but added oregano instead of dill/parsley and four cloves of garlic. Everybody enjoyed it, including my meat-centric fiance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Fanastic--made just like recipe next time i might add a little more dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
When I went to the store, I bought an extra can of green lima beans because I thought the 16 oz. bag of dried lima beans didn't look like it would be enough to fill a 9x13 pan, but it was. I added a chicken boullion cube to the water when I was simmering the beans to give them a little more flavor, and I only added about 1/3 cup olive oil to reduce the fat. I used about 1 Tbsp fresh parsely instead of the dill. I baked them uncovered for 1 hr 30 min at 375, and did not need to add any extra liquid. I sprinkled feta cheese on top when I took them out of the oven. Everyone thought these were a good alternative to baked beans at the picnic I took them to. I like the recipe because it's really easy and does not involve much prep work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I grated three large cloves garlic added can of venia sausage and some fried mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Make it all the time. We love it. I use oregano along with the dill. And feta sprinkled on top is delicious. We like it with crusty bread to wipe up the last bits. Nice with grilled Greek or Italian sausages for a hefty winter-time comfort meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
WOW... This was such a great and tasty recipe... much better than expected... I love dill and that's why I made it plus I'm a vegetarian, so this was perfect for me. The flavor was REALLY good. Even my husband who doesn't like beans that much loved this recipe!!! The only changes I made were the following: * I cooked the beans for about 35 minutes instead of 20. * I used 1/4 cup of olive oil instead of 1 cup * I used 1 28-Ounce can of Muir Glen Organic Fire Roasted Crushed Tomato, and 4 garlic cloves instead of 2 (because I love garlic) THIS was sooooooooo YUMMY!!!!! I will be making this very often, even for parties!!! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarlaVeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Great recipe. Very easy to make. The Gigantes tasted just like so many that I had while in Greece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
One word...YUMMMMM! I've had greek lima beans with dill before and loved them, but this is a really nice variation! I, too, cut the olive oil down and replaced half with chicken stock. I'm afraid to admit I didn't use fresh lima beans (didn't have on hand) and wondered how they would turn out using frozen, which I happened to have. I thawed out about 90% and started the recipe from there. I don't know if they turned out as good as if I had used dried lima beans, but I loved them and so did my husband! This is a definite do again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States