Gigantes (Greek Lima Beans) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
AWESOME! I HATE LIMA BEANS AND LOVED THIS RECIPE! I LEFT OUT THE OLIVE OIL. DESERVES 10 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I was extremely surprised that my 11-year-old loved this soup! I used the slow cooker and omitted the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I added a sliced cheddar sausage link. Too much oil. May make again with less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I thought this was very good. I added end pieces of bacon( husband is a meat hound). Had this as the main meal.It cooked up nice in the crock pot. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Lima beans are among the few foods I dislike, so maybe that's why I was so impressed that this recipe made them not only edible, but also tasty. We bought dried lima beans for my stepson, who eats canned limas almost every day, but it became apparent that he wasn't interested in the soak-overnight-and-cook-for-two-hours variety. Not wanting to waste them, I tried this recipe hoping to disguise the beans. Between the seasoning and long cooking time--I had to cook them a lot longer than called for, but that might be the fault of our decrepit oven--all that usual lima bean "dirt" taste was cooked right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I LOVE this recipe and can't seem to get enough of it. My husband and I had beans like this in Greece and I've been looking for a recipe for them ever since. This one is fabulous! I don't use nearly as much olive oil though--just a splash over the top, it really doesn't need it. Also, I usually just use canned beans because it's easier. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Followed recipe as advertised but added some oregano. Instead of baking in the oven I put the lima beans into a crock pot on low heat for about 4hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This is a really great recipe. It is such a winner that it overshadows the main dish! The beans that were on the top were a bit crunchy even after I added a little more water...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Every once in awhile I find a perfectly seasoned and exceptional recipe that uses every day ingredients and this is one such rarity. I added a little oregano and crushed red pepper to an already perfect recipe with fabulous results. Have made this recipe a dozen times for company with rave reviews and frequent requests for the "secret recipe". A real treasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auggie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
WOW!!!! great recipe. I am not a lima bean eater but I will be now. I used 1/2 the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States