Giblet Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
most excellent! just like Grandma's. Just DO NOT add the liver, the flavor is too strong. Also, if you can, use more drippings and broth (we love our gravy). This is my Dad's comment, my Grandma would always grind, not chop, the giblets. Personally, I don't care, but he does. That's Dads for ya! And yah, other review was right, you must brown your roux before you add the juice, makes all the difference. Love sage! Forgot to mention, DOH! Simmer giblets in water or stock with onion, celery, bay leaf, sage, pepper corns for about half to hour before chopping/grinding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annk5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great recipe and very easy!!! Will use from now on! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I cooked all the giblets in broth as specified but only added the liver for the last 10 minutes so it isn't overcooked. It's a little bit of trouble removing the meat from the neck but well worth it. I also chopped the giblets finely. I used the broth form cooking the giblets to make the gravy. It was delicious. The result wa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodcookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Alicante, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This gravy had a fantastic taste, but I'd leave out the giblets. I've never made giblet gravy so I wasn't sure how to "prepare" the giblets. I read on another site to boil them for an hour. I did that and put them into the gravy. I'm not sure they added any flavor, but it added some "chewy" stuff to it. Maybe my giblets were overcooked...not sure... With that being said, everything besides the giblets was great. I'll probably make again, but will just leave out the giblets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILESVT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was great gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
awesome! i used dried herbs and chicken broth. my girls said make this more often even after i told them what giblets consisted of...lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Bresler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Easier than the gravy I had been making for years where I had to slowly add a milk/flour mixture which eventually would turn into cement by the end of dinner (made me wonder what it did to my insides). Tastes YUMMY too! Missed a star because I did add about a teaspoon of cornstarch when the gravy wasn't thickening up enough for me, even after sitting for a while per the recipe. Didn't have to add much salt. Will make again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kevin Beasley
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Woohooo! I can never get Gravy to work. A little fresh Parsley added. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Beasley
Home Town: Cullman, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Photo by Alisa in TX
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I love how simple this recipe is. I add diced boiled eggs to mine, as well. It's how I remember it growing up =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa in TX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Giblet Gravy II

See how to make a tasty giblet gravy.

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States