Giblet Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I used canned chicken stock instead of the turkey stock, though next year I'll make a batch of turkey stock before hand. Excellent Giblet Gravy! I'd cut back the ground black pepper by half though, 1/2 teaspoon was a little overpowering for my tastes, the sage was just right. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Super good and very easy! Not sure why anyone has had a problem with it not thickening up...mine worked fine...even had to add a touch more broth since my husband likes it a bit on the thinner side. I might even try making it without the giblets next time. I did not even need to add any salt and I left out the sage since I didn't have any on hand. I also added onion as someone else recommended. It was still fantastic! My kids loved it...even the one who is VERY picky and hates ANY type of gravy liked this one a lot. Will certainly use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeeplette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
this is my first time making gravy---scaled the recipe down to 6 people and followed exactly except I left the liver out--and all I can say is YUM. I will make this gravy going forward! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I loved this recipe, dont listen to other people about the additional flour needed as I added less than a tablespoon extra and it became way to think. Just make sure you make the roux properly and you will be fine. I left out the giblets from the gravy, but I did use them to make the stock that made the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
this is what i know to be giblet gravy from family holiday dinners... and this time i made it! i doubled the recipe for i was feeding more than 6 i used all the innards, if i had kept to the original serving size i probably would have used only half the liver but with doubling i used all. I did pick meat off the neck and actually left the neck in the gravy as a request from my brother..ha. and i did add some cornstarch to thicken in a bit. everybody loved it and the neck was a fun topic. hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This gravy turned out fantastic. I made this for my first Thanksgiving and my only complaint is operator error. I had to keep adding more and more flour and more and more dripping because the mix would NOT turn golden brown. Again, operator error. I ended up having to cook for 30 min instead of 15 but it was absolutely delicious!! BTW I did not use giblets and it was still GREAT. This is my go to gravy from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
most excellent! just like Grandma's. Just DO NOT add the liver, the flavor is too strong. Also, if you can, use more drippings and broth (we love our gravy). This is my Dad's comment, my Grandma would always grind, not chop, the giblets. Personally, I don't care, but he does. That's Dads for ya! And yah, other review was right, you must brown your roux before you add the juice, makes all the difference. Love sage! Forgot to mention, DOH! Simmer giblets in water or stock with onion, celery, bay leaf, sage, pepper corns for about half to hour before chopping/grinding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annk5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great recipe and very easy!!! Will use from now on! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I cooked all the giblets in broth as specified but only added the liver for the last 10 minutes so it isn't overcooked. It's a little bit of trouble removing the meat from the neck but well worth it. I also chopped the giblets finely. I used the broth form cooking the giblets to make the gravy. It was delicious. The result wa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodcookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Alicante, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This gravy had a fantastic taste, but I'd leave out the giblets. I've never made giblet gravy so I wasn't sure how to "prepare" the giblets. I read on another site to boil them for an hour. I did that and put them into the gravy. I'm not sure they added any flavor, but it added some "chewy" stuff to it. Maybe my giblets were overcooked...not sure... With that being said, everything besides the giblets was great. I'll probably make again, but will just leave out the giblets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILESVT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Giblet Gravy II

See how to make a tasty giblet gravy.

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States