Giblet Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
This was great, the only thing I did different was added 2 buillion chicken cubes to richen the flavor, and added chicken livers for the stock. My husband absolutely dispises the giblets so I strained it out for him. He loved the flavor of the gravy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
good but for some reason it is hard for me to make and have it come out right everytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Not so bad for my first turkey gravy. I didnt have chikn broth, so I sub'd dry chicken boullion powder. Problem was, I made this too late so I had to rush it on high heat. This hardened the gizzards and made them rubbery. Don't rush it and you will be alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This was pretty good. I only used the liver and one egg. I was pretty sad when I first got finished with it because it was so thin (this was my first thanksgiving and I wanted it to be perfect!) but fortunately the turkey took longer than planned so the gravy cooked for longer than planned as well, and it turned out for the best! I like tons of flavor in my gravy though, and this was a bit lacking. It was good for my first try, but next time I'll try adding a bit more depth to it with seasonings and what not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
i made this for thanksgiving ...it did not go over too well with my guests...i liked it..but i do think if anyone attempt to make this recipe...add cornstarch...and only use 2 1/2 eggs or less......but the taste was alright otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Very Good! I recently made a turkey - something that I almost never cook - and decided to make giblet gravy to go with it. I am a package gravy gal and have never made gravy from scratch - I do cook quite a bit but gravy has always been something I left to someone else. This recipe was easy and very delicious. I did not chop up the giblets after they were cooked to put them back into the gravy however. I just made the broth from them. I did use more of the turkey drippings and less chicken broth - this turkey was very juicy and the drippings made the gravy richer than the chicken broth would have. This recipe is a keeper and I will definately make this gravy with every turkey. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This gravy recipe needs more cornstarch added, especially if you don't like your gravy to end up like liquid soup on your taters. Other then that it is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
very tasty and easy to make. It will be my "every year" gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
The taste of this recipe was great and reminded me a lot of my grandmother's. I did have to add more cornstarch than the recipe called for (4 tablespoons) and still it was a tad thinner than I am used to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Just a helpful hint. Instead of cornstarch, try melting 1-2 sticks of margarine in a pan, and gradually add flour till you reach your preferred thickness. Then just add to the broth. This will way out all the worries of it being to thick or to thin. Aside from this, the recipe is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States