Giblet Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Just a helpful hint. Instead of cornstarch, try melting 1-2 sticks of margarine in a pan, and gradually add flour till you reach your preferred thickness. Then just add to the broth. This will way out all the worries of it being to thick or to thin. Aside from this, the recipe is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Phenomenal! This had an intense and wonderful flavor, even BEFORE I added the drippings from the turkey. And once I added those (from an applewood-smoked turkey cooked in a water smoker, with a basting sauce that included Pepsi-Cola of all things), it was one of the best gravies I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ComputerUp

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Very Good! I recently made a turkey - something that I almost never cook - and decided to make giblet gravy to go with it. I am a package gravy gal and have never made gravy from scratch - I do cook quite a bit but gravy has always been something I left to someone else. This recipe was easy and very delicious. I did not chop up the giblets after they were cooked to put them back into the gravy however. I just made the broth from them. I did use more of the turkey drippings and less chicken broth - this turkey was very juicy and the drippings made the gravy richer than the chicken broth would have. This recipe is a keeper and I will definately make this gravy with every turkey. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Thanks for posting this old fashioned recipe. My grandmother, who passed away two years ago, made giblet gravy when I was growing up and I wanted to do the same for my family but couldn't locate a recipe like hers until now. I love teaching my two girls, ages 4 and 10, to cook and this will be a recipe I will pass along to them. THANKS FOR THANKSGIVING MEMORIES OF YESTER YEAR AND THE ONES TO COME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
This recipe was chunkier than the giblet gravy I'm used to. Next time I would not cut up the meat and add it back, and I would not add the egg yolks, only the whites. We had to add extra corn starch to get it to thicken too, maybe it is supposed to be thin gravy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
For some reason, when we saw that eggs were an ingredient in this gravy, it actually sounded pretty good. So, we weren't surprised that we liked it. We were surprised at how much we liked the recipe as a whole! This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akfilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maron Di Brugnera, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Try as I might - this turned out so very runny. It would not thicken up based on the 2 TBS of cornstarch. I had to add 2 more to get a gravy texture. I always use egg in my gravy but this looked more like an egg gravy. 2 eggs would have been plenty. Thanks for sharing. With a little modifying this one turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Not so bad for my first turkey gravy. I didnt have chikn broth, so I sub'd dry chicken boullion powder. Problem was, I made this too late so I had to rush it on high heat. This hardened the gizzards and made them rubbery. Don't rush it and you will be alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This gravy recipe needs more cornstarch added, especially if you don't like your gravy to end up like liquid soup on your taters. Other then that it is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Made this for Christmas dinner. Everyone seemed to like it. Made it exactly from recipe. My only complaint was that it didn't seem to thicken much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States