Giblet Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made as stated using less chicken broth and more of the turkey drippings, nice flavor, I ended up using 3 times as much cornstarch to get it to thicken properly. The only change I would make in the future is to use less chicken broth and more turkey drippings since it seemed to have more of a chicken flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Excellent recipe, best I have found. I added alittle more corn starch, I like it just abit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I've made this every year since 2003 and it's just like my mom always made. This year I just noticed the reviews and will try making the roux with just a 1/4 cup butter + 1/4 cup flour until browned, then stir in the broth so the thickness can increase- it is usually a bit thin but noone mentions it. Love, love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My first attempt, I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! I thought my family had the best recipe and out of curiosity I gave this one a try. I'm so glad I did. This is my "new favorite" giblet gravy recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PenPen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This recipe is delicious, thanks for posting it Mary48! If you can't get your gravy to thicken with the amount of cornstarch in the recipe, it's likely because you're not doing it right. :^) I always use cornstarch to thicken (I have a gluten intolerant child, but even before then I used it) because it doesn't lump nearly like flour tends to. The gravy needs to be just boiling, the cornstarch needs to be dissolved in a little water or milk and stirred into the boiling gravy. If you're used to thickening by starting with a roux it may take a couple tries to learn the technique, but it's actually much easier IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonopah, Nevada, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I have been making this exact gravy for 20 year or so. Had friends say they would not eat gravy with eggs in it until they tasted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This isnt the best of recipes.. my gma has been makin it for as long as i can rememeber but she doesnt use cornstarch she uses turkey stuffing! it makes it thicker GRAVY like... ITS THE BESTTTTT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
classic giblet gravy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBTHECOOK

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seymour, Texas, USA
Living In: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Perfect. Just like grandma in Mississippi used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Giblet Gravy II

See how to make a tasty giblet gravy.

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States