Giblet Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I've made this every year since 2003 and it's just like my mom always made. This year I just noticed the reviews and will try making the roux with just a 1/4 cup butter + 1/4 cup flour until browned, then stir in the broth so the thickness can increase- it is usually a bit thin but noone mentions it. Love, love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My first attempt, I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! I thought my family had the best recipe and out of curiosity I gave this one a try. I'm so glad I did. This is my "new favorite" giblet gravy recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PenPen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This recipe is delicious, thanks for posting it Mary48! If you can't get your gravy to thicken with the amount of cornstarch in the recipe, it's likely because you're not doing it right. :^) I always use cornstarch to thicken (I have a gluten intolerant child, but even before then I used it) because it doesn't lump nearly like flour tends to. The gravy needs to be just boiling, the cornstarch needs to be dissolved in a little water or milk and stirred into the boiling gravy. If you're used to thickening by starting with a roux it may take a couple tries to learn the technique, but it's actually much easier IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonopah, Nevada, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I have been making this exact gravy for 20 year or so. Had friends say they would not eat gravy with eggs in it until they tasted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This isnt the best of recipes.. my gma has been makin it for as long as i can rememeber but she doesnt use cornstarch she uses turkey stuffing! it makes it thicker GRAVY like... ITS THE BESTTTTT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
classic giblet gravy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBTHECOOK

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seymour, Texas, USA
Living In: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Perfect. Just like grandma in Mississippi used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This had a very good taste, but was too thin. I had to add a great deal more of starch then called for in the recipe and cook longer to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This stuff is SO SO good. A new Thanksgiving staple. Even my picky husband ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States