Giant Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
These were soft and so delicious!!! I substituted the shortening for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I don't understand the toffee in the name, but it doesn't matter. These are heavenly! I had to use butter because my last stick of Crisco went to my neighbor yesterday. I made these into bars to save time, and I had to walk away before I ate the entire pan. I'll be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Ginther Brauns
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
Super Soft!!! My fiance thought they were the best cookie he ever had. He didn't even want to share. thanks for great recipe. It's my new chocolate chip cookie recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandorf
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
These cookies taste great and have a wonderful texture. They are very soft, and if stored properly are very soft the next day as well. I substituted butter for the shortening and added toffee chips as well, but I don't feel that adding the toffee chips was completely necessary. The baking time is just right! Your whole family will thank you for these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
these cookies are great we had them on the 4th of july at are cookout and they flew off the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wareham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I make these for our family vacation each year. There are never any leftovers. I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEWILLIA521

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Love this recipe! These are by far the best homemade chocolate chip cookies I have ever had. The changes I made were to use 1 3/4 cup white whole wheat pastry flour, 1 1/8 cup white sugar instead of brown and honey (what I had) and canola and coconut oils instead of shortening. I also put in half the chocolate chips (again, what I had) and it was just right. I wanted big cookies but not monster sized so I did 1/8 cup portions and baked for 11 minutes in my gas oven (runs hot) on the top rack. For those of you who are having "sticking" problems, GREASE THE COOKIE SHEET! Not just at the beginning, but between each batch. I know it says you don't have to but these are SOFT cookies and without something on the sheet they will be impossible to remove. The other thing that helps a lot is letting them cool as the recipe states. This will let the middles firm up and make them easier to lift from the sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
These cookies were great. As I was making them though, the dough seemed much too wet and not quite thick enough to drop onto the sheet, so I ended up adding almost an extra cup of flour to the dough. They turned out really well that way. I also made them slightly smaller than the recipe called for. Great flavor and so soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Good cookie, but too much chocolate and not enough cookie. If I had added fewer semi sweet chocolate chips and a cup of nuts they would have been perfect. I will make them again with the modifications and see how that comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Jung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jim Barry
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Followed the recipe as is, used a #24 scoop. Cookies remain very soft with an interesting toffee flavor. The first pan I took out of the oven at 14 min with indications of browned edges. But they fell flat :( , could have easily gone 2 more mins. They are the bottom layer in the photo I submitted. The second pan was 3/4 full and I left in for 15 mins. These turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States