Giant Ding Dong Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
This was fun to make...takes awhile, but the results are worth it. It looks fabulous and tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
This tastes amazingly like a giant Ding Dong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
Hello Delish! Talk about the real McCoy... this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
Great Cake. Everybody loved it. Good enough to make a hit at the big family Christmas reunion of the best cooks in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
kids loved it. a nice change from the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
This is a great cake! Everyone loved it and said it was even better than a Ding Dong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
Everyone loved this cake! Very simple. I cheated and used store-bought frosting (took off the foil seal, heated it in the microwave and just poured it on) to save time. It was a little too sweet for my liking and it didn't make a nice "shell" like the real Ding Dongs, so I will follow the recipe next time. This recipe made a lot of the cream filling, so I only used about half of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
My family LOVED this cake. I actually prepared two nine inch cakes from the single recipe. My son, who LOVES Ding Dong's said this cake was..."the bomb". Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
We made this for Dad for Father's day, it was a hit! Easy to make, tastes just like a real Ding Dong cake, so it was gone that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
This is definitly a keeper. I prepared it for my husband's birthday. Hardly a crumb was left. Everyone there raved about it. The recipe was requested by everyone. Will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clifford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Frost a Cake

See simple steps to frost a cake like a professional baker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States