Giant Ding Dong Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
This was fun to make...takes awhile, but the results are worth it. It looks fabulous and tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
This tastes amazingly like a giant Ding Dong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
Hello Delish! Talk about the real McCoy... this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
Great Cake. Everybody loved it. Good enough to make a hit at the big family Christmas reunion of the best cooks in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
kids loved it. a nice change from the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
This is a great cake! Everyone loved it and said it was even better than a Ding Dong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
Everyone loved this cake! Very simple. I cheated and used store-bought frosting (took off the foil seal, heated it in the microwave and just poured it on) to save time. It was a little too sweet for my liking and it didn't make a nice "shell" like the real Ding Dongs, so I will follow the recipe next time. This recipe made a lot of the cream filling, so I only used about half of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
My family LOVED this cake. I actually prepared two nine inch cakes from the single recipe. My son, who LOVES Ding Dong's said this cake was..."the bomb". Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
We made this for Dad for Father's day, it was a hit! Easy to make, tastes just like a real Ding Dong cake, so it was gone that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
This is definitly a keeper. I prepared it for my husband's birthday. Hardly a crumb was left. Everyone there raved about it. The recipe was requested by everyone. Will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Young Adams
Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clifford, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States