Giant Ding Dong Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This recipe was SO good!!! I tested it out on fiance and kids first, then took it to work after receiving their 5 star rating. The girls at work went crazy!! All are begging for the recipe!! I did not hollow out the cake - instead I did as someone had recommended and made two 9 inch layer cakes and then split them in half to make a torte-like layer cake. It was so pretty and delicious. People are even wanting to PAY me to make this cake for birthdays!!! Can you believe it!! Thanks again for this great recipe...it was fun to construct and tasted fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
My family loved this. It is VERY rich. I couln't even eat a whole piece. I did do what others suggested and used 2 9 inch pans and it worked well. I did not heat the chocolate on the stove. I melted it in the microwave on 30 second intervals with stirring in between. Once it really was almost melted I did 15 sec. intervals so I wouldn't burn the chocolate. It turned out fabulous and was much faster and easier. I then poured it on the top and let it drip down the sides and manuvered it around with a small spatuala. Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Well received, everyone loved it, although I felt I "cheated" by not making it from scratch! I gave it 4 stars because the filling was good, but fresh whipped cream is soooo much better. Overall a very good recipe and everyone raved. For those who think it took too long... try a scratch cake with buttercream and fondant sometime, or better yet, just stick with the bakery!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
The filling is fantastic. Use the "Deep Dark Chocolate Cake" recipe instead of the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda M. Burciaga
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Love it! I was not very good at the glaze topping. So I put the topping on the best I could, refrigerated the cake then put a second batch of the glaze over the cake to be sure to cover the sides completely. Very rich & very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made this for my daughter's first birthday. She and everyone else loved it. Next time I am not going to bother hollowing out the cake and instead I will sandwich the filling between the two layers. This cake is definitely worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Holy Moly is this good! I made this 3 times in 10 days as everyone loved it!!! It's definitely the new favorite in our home. I used 2 9-inch pans instead of a 10 inch--that way I wouldn't have to scoop out the inside. I think it would be great using 3 pans...made like a torte. A couple of things I've learned...make sure you take the top layer off of the cooked milk/flour combo. It doesn't fully beat into the filing mixture otherwise. Also, I put this immediately into the fridge once I've filed it and it sets quite a bit while the topping is made. I plan to make chocolate cookies, fill them with the filing, and covered them with the chocolate. I think those will be fabulous too!! Oh yeah, it melts quickly in the heat, so if it's hot where you are, don't take it out until you serve it. Great cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This cake looks and tasts just like the Ding Dongs we ate as a kid! I took it to work for a potluck, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDRETH1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
While the cake itself *tasted* good, it wasnt at all the consistency of a Ding-Dong (I had a package of them opened to do a side-by-side comparison). The resulting cake was too moist and dense (likely due to the pudding & eggs) while a real Ding-Dong is more dry & crumbly, with a slight bittersweet choco taste. I didnt proceed with the filling as I didnt want to waste it on a cake that wasnt just right. Im now deliberately looking for recipes where reviewers say the result was too dry or crumbly. The quest continues! (although "Dark Chocolate Cake 1" and "Brownstone Front Chocolate Cake" have both been given "dry" or "too crumbly" reviews.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This cake is alot of fun! Every one at my dinner party loved it. It tastes just like a giant ding dong! It does take a little time to do, but its well worth it. I will make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Frost a Cake

See simple steps to frost a cake like a professional baker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States