Giant Ding Dong Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Quite yummy, and not difficult to make in the least. A little more time consuming than what is typically required. I didn't have my usual kitchen equipment on hand, so I baked it in a 9x13 pan and then cut it in half, and scooped out the middle. Be sure to leave a border/perimeter of cake around the edges. I also used almond extract, which I would decrease in amount if I make this again. Overall, very tasty- the cream infuses tastiness in the rest of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This is the best cake i have ever made. I am the betty crocker at my job and do all the birthday cakes. Everyone always requests this cake. It is so moist. I have even added about a cup of peanut butter to the filling, big hit. I don't cut the center and put filling in, I pipe it in all over the cake top and bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This cake was a hit! I have people requesting I make it all the time. It's worth the little bit of extra effort beyond the dump and stir cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
One word...........KILLER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Festus, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This was so easy, and very yummy! Tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabbcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Severna Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I made this for my hubby's birthday cake, and we all loved it. Don't try to make this one last-minute...allow yourself plenty of time, and it's well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albin, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This cake was a delicious one in deed. However i have to agree that having all the cream in the centre is a little too much. As stated in some reviews that it was not as dry as the real ding dong. It is because you didn't bake it long enough. Made two batches and one was left in the oven for 15mins longer than the other and this is where i found one was dryier than the other. Also i think next time i make this i think i will make it into a jelly roll that you can get from the stores and it tastes like the ding dongs too. over all i think it is best when the cake sits in the refidgerator for at least 12 hours before you eat it. Way better when you wait for it. Thanks for the recipe...it is a definate keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Our Worship Pastor loves ding dongs, so I thought I'd make him a ding dong cake. I found this recipe and boy was it a hit. I've since made 3 and am always asked when I'm making it again. It was simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Overall, this cake pleased the crowd. The frosting was yummy and super simple. I'll use it again and again. The filling was just ...there. Not bad and yet there was no sweetness to it. It was the right texture. I might try another ding dong filling recipe. I found one that has the filling made with powdered sugar, cream cheese, and cool whip. Not sure if it would give an authentic ding dong taste, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
YUMMY. Made this and took it to a bbq this past weekend and everyone LOVED it. Much too big to make and serve at home, but great to take to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States