Giant Ding Dong Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was a great cake, everyone loved it, I did make some alterations. I felt uneasy about the shortening and vegetable oil so I used margarine and canola oil in their place. As for the filling I went along with someone’s advice to use whipped topping (fat free) and cream cheese (fat free) with some vanilla instead of what the recipe calls for. A great cake!!!! Highly recommend you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bleu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This was really very good... and it tasted even better 2 days after I made it. The filling could be improved, I could taste the shortening, but that lessened the longer it sat in the fridge. Next time I'll try it with fresh whipped cream as the filling. Make this cake, you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was wonderful, but the filling is much easier if you just mix a small container of cool whip and 8 oz of softened cream cheese with vanilla using a hand mixer. I also used butter instead of shortening in the glaze. Made this for my fiance's 9 year old son. Everyone loved it, from babe to grandparents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shoals, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This is absolutely the best recipe. Good by Hostess. I made mine as cup cakes instead of the cake and they turned out perfectly. Identicle to the Hostess cupcake, but way better. The cake is so moist the filling so fluffy and the icing just wonderful. Very easy to make for any level of baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is such a cool cake! I made it several years ago before people were posting pictures. Mine turned out beautifully and I got some really nice pictures, I need to find them. I followed the directions exactly and it wasn't difficult. Even cutting the top off the cake wasn't hard. Just use thread! I do remember thinking that next time I make it I might add some Cool Whip to the filling to make it a little creamier, but it really turned out well regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Photo by Sweetie
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This cake is delicious! The only change I made was using 1/2 cup of softened butter in the batter instead of shortening, because I don't like the taste of shortening. I scooped out a shallow moat and filled with the cream filling and it was just the right amount. I refrigerated overnight and I think that is a must. For the white piping, I used 1/2 cup confect. sugar, 2 tbsp melted butter, 1 tbsp milk and 1/4 tsp of vanilla and put in plastic bag and cut the corner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was good. Everyone liked it a lot, although I do recommend that you make it into a layer cake rather than cramming all the filling in one spot. The filling is quite sweet and is overwhelming on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I have made this cake three times now and it has been a great success each time. I don't scoop out the middle of the cake and it turns out just fine. This cake is a winner with kids and adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I made this cake for my daughters 10th birthday party. I made it the day before and refrigerated until cake time - I think that helped meld the flavors. It was a winner all the way around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Very good and fun to make. Since other's mentioned the cake being a little moist, I left it in a little longer. I made cupcakes for DH's work (easier to serve) so I chose to go with the Hostess cupcake look. The only change I made was to use milk chocolate for the topping glaze, note that I did increase the amount of chocolate. To get the filling into the center I used a decorater's bag and the long narrow tip. I used the ready made can of decorater icing for the swirls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States