Giant Ding Dong Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
yum yum made cupcakes, they taste even better the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I used to be able to get Ding Dongs where I used to live. They do not sell them in VA. My best friend's birthday was right after she moved here and she loves Ding Dongs. It sounded a lot more difficult then it was and it was just like the real thing but larger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This recipe seemed like a lot of work to me, and I was totally exhausted by the time I had finished making it. I used skim milk and a vegetable oil butter- substitute for the cream filling (all we have in the house), and it came out tasting like a vanilla pudding. I tossed some of the filling, however next time I will use it all and split the cake into three layers instead of two. My family loved the result, but I wasn't that crazy about it until it had stayed in the refrigerator overnight. What a difference in the taste of the filling! While it had been so-so right after making, it was fantastic the next day. Will definitely be making again, but will make the filling in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
WOW!! I made this cake today and served it to company. The whole cake was wiped out in one sitting. The recipe was clear and easy to follow. I will definitely mark this as a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This is a FUN recipe! I have made it as a cake and as cupcakes. For the cake version, I agree that you should make it in layers, rather than putting all the filling into the center. As cupcakes, I used a pastry bag with a large tip, inserted it into the top of each cupcake and filled until I saw the top of the cupcake rise. I dipped the top of each cupcake into the glaze and let set before adding the white swirl. I got 21 cupcakes, filling each 3/4 full and cooking for 18 minutes. These are better made the day before. Also, you really need to whip the filling mixture to incorporate all the ingredients well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
OK, I LOVE to bake cakes. This cake is my new favorite, by far! I followed the recipe exactly as stated, but I made it as a layer cake with the filling in b/w the layers as other reviewers have suggested. Perfect! In fact, this cake is so delicious, I cannot keep out of it. It's absolutely sinful for anyone trying to fight their chocolate cravings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Wow, this was such a great idea! I made mine into cupcakes and used a pastry bag to fill them for a birthday party, and people were begging for the recipe. I would recommend that you not skip steps and try to use a pre-made filling like cool-whip or whatever. The filling is really nice because it is a cooked frosting essentially, so it is not terribly sweet and definitely not grainy, so you don't get a cavity per bite!! Just be sure to get the milk and flour thick like paste before taking it off the heat. I thought everything tasted fine with the shortening, but I will try to experiment with replacing it for health reasons. Finally, I also added the hostess cupcake swirl on the tops, since I made cupcakes. They turned out really cute. To make the swirl, I mixed a couple tablespoons of butter with about a half cup of powdered sugar, and a dash of vanilla and milk (I really hate store-bought frosting, and that is so easy anyway). To pipe it, I just put it in a plastic baggie and snipped the corner off. Also, I thought they tasted better after they sat overnight, since the flavors melded together more. Overall, excellent idea, will do again. So little effort for such a great result!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This gets 5 stars because my boys ate it completely, not just the icing on the top, but licked their plates clean. Also, it gets 5 stars because it really, truly tastes like a giant hostess cupcake. Only complaint is that with the shortening in the chocolate topping it made it taste strange, I may use butter in the chocolate next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was a great cake, everyone loved it, I did make some alterations. I felt uneasy about the shortening and vegetable oil so I used margarine and canola oil in their place. As for the filling I went along with someone’s advice to use whipped topping (fat free) and cream cheese (fat free) with some vanilla instead of what the recipe calls for. A great cake!!!! Highly recommend you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bleu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This was really very good... and it tasted even better 2 days after I made it. The filling could be improved, I could taste the shortening, but that lessened the longer it sat in the fridge. Next time I'll try it with fresh whipped cream as the filling. Make this cake, you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States