Giant Ding Dong Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is one of the fams favorites!! I make thi for my sisters birthday every year... I experimented a little... I used "The Cake Doctor" recipe for marshmellow cream frosting for the filing and chocolate ganache for the top icing (nixed the Grand Marinier)!! It is a hit where ever I make it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary J.
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I've made this recipe twice with great results. The filling really does taste like that of a ding dong. And the glaze works great. I doubled it to make sure it went on smoothly. Had leftovers, but that's fine. One day I'll do cupcakes, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I don't like to waste food so I made cupcakes instead of a big cake. Excellent! The filling is fantastic, and the glaze is very good. I made the glaze in the microwave, just heated all ingredients for one minute and stirred until smooth. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This is so good. I made the cup cakes and it was a big hit with eveyone. The chocolate frosting is the best frosting ever. Followed the recipe exactly and used the dip method to frost them. I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This was the best! We made cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This tastes like a real Ding Dong! Some things that help: Use 1 and 1/2 cups of milk chocolate chips for the frosting. Also, if the white filling is runny, put it in the fridge for 10 minutes, then try beating it again. It will thicken up. I used butter in place of the shortening. I also made this a 3-layer cake with the cream filling in between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This combo is good, but not the best I ever had so I only gave 4 stars. I will definitely use the glaze with other recipes. The cake/filling was good but I didn't think the filling and cake were the best compliments to each other. I made this into cupcakes and had alot of fun doing so! A real crowd pleaser~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This was a BIG hit w/ everyone I shared it with!! I rated it 4 stars because it is reeeeeally hard to spread warm icing along the sides of this cake...I mean, HELLO?!?! How can you spread RUNNY icing?! I think the directions should've been different for this part. But other than that, it is FABULOUS!! :) You won't be disappointed you tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ozark Acres, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was just great. Delicious to eat, great conversation piece, too! I made in two 9 inch circle layer pans and spread the filling between. Stored in fridge overnite. Will make again and again (for a crowd).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Though a bit of a pain to make it turned out great. Everybody loved it. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States