Giant Ding Dong Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This cake was fantastic. Refridgerating it overnight is key to its success. My boss was thrilled that it tasted just like his favorite snack cake. I did, however, add just a tsp of coconut extract to the filling to give it a little more oomph. This it a keeper recipe. Kudos to the contributor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this cake thinking it would be very rich and heavy. To my surprise, I was totally wrong! Everyone really enjoyed it and asked when I was going to make another. Only thing, I took some advice, made just a round cake and cut the layers in half and used the filling between the layers. I had to guess if the pudding needed to be made before added to cake mix, and if the white sugar was granulated sugar or confectionary sugar. But I guessed right and it turner out fantastic, thank you for this great recipe! I also used this filling recipe for cupcakes, they turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momof3
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was the best cake I've ever made! I was so nervous that this might not come out because I've always bought cakes for birthdays....never wanted to take a chance of it not turning out right! But I saw this recipe and decided to take a chance! I followed another reviewer's advice about making more layers. I made three 9 inch layers and a bunch of mini cupcakes using mini muffin pans. Had to double the cake ingredients though. I am SO glad I did. I think just putting all that cream filling in the center of two layers, would have been way too much. The cake is super moist and flavorful, the filling is to DIE for, and the glaze that goes on top dries fast and is easy to work with! Makes you look like a professional! Thank you so much for posting this great recipe! I know I'm going to be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Simply the best! I used dark chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet. The filling is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was so incredbily yummy! I made it for my husband for Valentines Day and he was so excited about it. I ended up baking the cake in two round pans, then slicing the rounds. I stacked the cake with 3 layers of filling. I must say I was trying to get the hang of icing the sides of the cake and was a little too slow, so the icing didn't have the nice "glaze" look I would have liked. However it would have if I would have been quicker instead of worrying so much! ha ha I made the cake the night before so it had some time in the fridge, and the flavor was fabulous. My husband loved it and so did I. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Followed recipe exactly, everyone loved it. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Guys, I feel I can follow a recipe and do a pretty good job... but I did not care for this recipe, the filling just did not cut it, it tasted so bad to me I could not even put it in. Just frosted the cake.... the cake was OK, but not as good as I thought it would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I made the cupcakes per other reviewers directions and they were the hit of the party. A little extra work in making the cream filling but well worth it for the results. I'm not a cake/cupcake lover but I loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This cake is AWESOME and soo much fun to make! I made this as a three layer cake with the filling between the layers and poured the icing over the top and let it drizzle down the sides. My kids and even my husband who never eats cake loved it. Definately one for the permanent recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made this as cupcakes and was able to get a total of 24. I whipped the filling for about 8 minutes after adding the flour mixture and it was not grainy. (I think others didn't whip it long enough.) I had a lot of filling left over but think this is because I made the cupcakes instead of a cake so I piped some of the filling onto the tops of the cupcakes. I used milk chocolate chips and didn't have any problem with the chocolate drying as others have stated. All in all they were very good and surprisingly easy to make. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States