Giant Ding Dong Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Our most favorite ever. I layer the cake so the cream is more even throughout the cake. I also use butter in the chocolate icing. I've done it with and without the pudding with no major changes. LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This recipe is to die for! I made cupcakes. You can use butter/margarine instead of shortening in all parts of this recipe. The filling is pretty gross when you first make it -- you MUST let the filled cake/cupcakes sit in the fridge at least overnight. Then, you will be pleasantly surprised. The graininess disappears and the flavor is great. Everyone who tried mine are begging for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Used two brownie mixes instead of cake mixes and tiered them with the white frosting. Used confectioner's sugar in the frosting instead of granulated. Also used a ganache recipe that was half cream and half chips. No water in the ganache. Very good as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Very good! Tasted just like a ding dong! Next time I may try to make them as cupcakes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
My kids loved this cake both the big kids and the little kids, their exact praise was "Mom this cake is the Bomb". A little bit time consuming but well worth the effort. This will be the requested cake for birthday's I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieSue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wagoner, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Delicious and a lot of fun to make. I should have hollowed out a little bit of the upper half and not so much of the bottom, but thats just for aesthetics. I didnt like the outter crust, but maybe if I'd have used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet it would have been better. Ill try next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Wow!! So great! I made cupcakes (24) baked for 18 mins @ 350. Didn't change the recipe at all. The filling was great. I arranged the cupcakes on a platter and wrote HAPPY B-DAY along with my daughter's name with letter on each cupcake. The party is tonight, I made them yesterday and cut into one today to see how the filling looked as I'd never piped filling into a cupcake before. It was great. Even though I'm on a mission to lose weight before our vacation next week, I had to have a bite and had to really restrain myself from eating the entire cupcake. Can't wait to make them again and allow myself to eat a whole one! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Even though my cake looked like a hot mess (I didn't let it cool long enough before cutting and frosting) it was SO delicious! Our friends agreed that it tasted even better than the little Hostess cakes! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This cake was fantastic. Refridgerating it overnight is key to its success. My boss was thrilled that it tasted just like his favorite snack cake. I did, however, add just a tsp of coconut extract to the filling to give it a little more oomph. This it a keeper recipe. Kudos to the contributor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this cake thinking it would be very rich and heavy. To my surprise, I was totally wrong! Everyone really enjoyed it and asked when I was going to make another. Only thing, I took some advice, made just a round cake and cut the layers in half and used the filling between the layers. I had to guess if the pudding needed to be made before added to cake mix, and if the white sugar was granulated sugar or confectionary sugar. But I guessed right and it turner out fantastic, thank you for this great recipe! I also used this filling recipe for cupcakes, they turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States