Giant Ding Dong Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
excellent,anyone looking for a good cake try this one ((except put the filling between layers you wont be sorry))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This should have more than 5 stars, a friend made it for me, so I can't comment on how easy or hard it was to make but I sure can tell you it delish, thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Our most favorite ever. I layer the cake so the cream is more even throughout the cake. I also use butter in the chocolate icing. I've done it with and without the pudding with no major changes. LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This recipe is to die for! I made cupcakes. You can use butter/margarine instead of shortening in all parts of this recipe. The filling is pretty gross when you first make it -- you MUST let the filled cake/cupcakes sit in the fridge at least overnight. Then, you will be pleasantly surprised. The graininess disappears and the flavor is great. Everyone who tried mine are begging for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Used two brownie mixes instead of cake mixes and tiered them with the white frosting. Used confectioner's sugar in the frosting instead of granulated. Also used a ganache recipe that was half cream and half chips. No water in the ganache. Very good as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Very good! Tasted just like a ding dong! Next time I may try to make them as cupcakes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
My kids loved this cake both the big kids and the little kids, their exact praise was "Mom this cake is the Bomb". A little bit time consuming but well worth the effort. This will be the requested cake for birthday's I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieSue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackett, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cassville, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Delicious and a lot of fun to make. I should have hollowed out a little bit of the upper half and not so much of the bottom, but thats just for aesthetics. I didnt like the outter crust, but maybe if I'd have used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet it would have been better. Ill try next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Wow!! So great! I made cupcakes (24) baked for 18 mins @ 350. Didn't change the recipe at all. The filling was great. I arranged the cupcakes on a platter and wrote HAPPY B-DAY along with my daughter's name with letter on each cupcake. The party is tonight, I made them yesterday and cut into one today to see how the filling looked as I'd never piped filling into a cupcake before. It was great. Even though I'm on a mission to lose weight before our vacation next week, I had to have a bite and had to really restrain myself from eating the entire cupcake. Can't wait to make them again and allow myself to eat a whole one! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Even though my cake looked like a hot mess (I didn't let it cool long enough before cutting and frosting) it was SO delicious! Our friends agreed that it tasted even better than the little Hostess cakes! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States