Giant Ding Dong Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
What a cool cake! It takes a while to make, but it's not hard at all. Everyone absolutely loved it! Oh, and do make sure to beat the filling to death. Otherwise, the sugar doesn't dissolve properly and it's not fuffy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALAFLUTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I made this cake for my sons' high school football banquet. I was looking for something to appeal to teenagers and adults alike. What a hit!! Everyone loved it, and I did too, it tastes just like the snack cake. I do have a couple of suggestions, Nestle has a new product which is white and semisweet chocolate swirled chips. This worked great to cut down on the strong taste of the chocolate. Also, take the discarded cake, put it in a container, take the extra filling, spread on top, and drizzle two spoonfuls of chocolate topping on top. I took it to work ( they don't care if it's pretty, as long as it's chocolate) Voila!! No waste. Have fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Very good! My husband thought it was the best birthday cake he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
I made this for a coworkers birthday party. It looked and tasted like a Ding Dong. It was time consumming but a lot of fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
Awesome! Appears harder than it really is. Very simple to make. Huge hit. Taste just like the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
I sent this cake to work with my husband and it was gone by 10:00 a.m. It tasted EXACTLY like a Ding Dong. I couldn't believe it. The glaze was perfect and shiny just like it should be. I did make this in three layers, though, and put the filling in between the two middle layers. Thank you for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This cake is perfect. My family thought it was histarical!! I almost messed it up by not beating the filling for 4 minutes. It is a must to beat the filling long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Wow! This is incredible. A huge hit with our youth group. Tastes just like the real thing. Quite sweet, though. So...beware. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
For my daughter's birthday, we try to pick a recipe with high chocolate potential. This was this year's winner! We loved it. I did try piping in the cream instead of cutting off the top and pulling out some of the cake. It worked well, but I think the cream would be more evenly distributed if I had cut off the top. This cake was delicious and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Well, I made this cake just yesterday. I just couldn't do the cutting and scooping out the cake. So I spooned the filling into a decorator's bag and pipped the filling into the cake. I made several holes on top of the cake (I had flipped the cake upside down on a cake plate). Please use the tip that is the most narrow, as you do not want big holes at the top of the cake. I must of had about 25 small holes from the nozzle of the bag, placing just enough filling, making the cake rise a tad. I was able to use all the filling into the cake. I then went and let the cake set while I did the frosting. For the frosting, I put more of the chocolate chips in then what I orginally posted the recipe at, most likely about 1/2 cup more. This cake is a must for the frig it seems to be more abundance with flavor when it sets for about 2-3 hours. I hope this helps someone. Cheryl Try using cupcakes! and dip them in the frosting, let cool on tray. WOWZA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Greene, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States