Giant Ding Dong Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
I've made this cake for several different functions and it's always very impressive. I can't stand the flavor of shortening so I substitute unsalted butter for the filling and frosting. This will be a keeper for a long time, thanks Cheryl!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I'm a hero now to my husband and visiting nieces! This cake truly does taste just like the old Ding Dongs that we all know and love. This was easy to make and I had all the ingredients on hand. I'll definitely be making this one again and would suggest it to anyone looking for a simple cake that will wow your loved ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
It was a little time consuming but well worth the effort. My 9 year old wanted it for his school picnic. Fun and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
This is a must at our preschool's teacher Christmas party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I have made this cake 4 times in the last couple of months for special occasions and it is now a FAVORITE among family/friends! I found that to keep the cake from drying out, make sure you cover the whole cake with the icing. I also whipped the filling longer than noted which produced a smooth filling vs. tasting the sugar granules. I also drizzled white powdered sugar frosting over the top for a special touch. I'm not sure what the fuss is from other reviewers regarding the difficulty or "takes too long"...I found it was a breeze! While you are baking the cake, mix your filing. It's EASY! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, Cheryl! It is a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
I have made this terrific cake 3 times since coming upon this recipe. My husband can eat half of it at once!! It's also good made with other types of chips for the top (peanut butter or white chocolate for example).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
My hubby thinks it tasted and looked just like a ding-dong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I am not a huge chocolate lover so I used a white cake and vanilla pudding. It turned out wonderful. For the filling I used butter flavored shortening. It turned out super. The filling is great as a cake frosting. It isn't too sweet and it spreads easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
What a cool cake! It takes a while to make, but it's not hard at all. Everyone absolutely loved it! Oh, and do make sure to beat the filling to death. Otherwise, the sugar doesn't dissolve properly and it's not fuffy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALAFLUTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I made this cake for my sons' high school football banquet. I was looking for something to appeal to teenagers and adults alike. What a hit!! Everyone loved it, and I did too, it tastes just like the snack cake. I do have a couple of suggestions, Nestle has a new product which is white and semisweet chocolate swirled chips. This worked great to cut down on the strong taste of the chocolate. Also, take the discarded cake, put it in a container, take the extra filling, spread on top, and drizzle two spoonfuls of chocolate topping on top. I took it to work ( they don't care if it's pretty, as long as it's chocolate) Voila!! No waste. Have fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Frost a Cake

See simple steps to frost a cake like a professional baker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States