Giant Ding Dong Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Great birthday cake! I baked in two 9 inch cake pans, cut each in half making a four layer cake. It was the perfect amount of filling. The only thing I would do differently is place the cake on a cooling rack with a plate underneath then pour the ganache over the top. This way the chocolate won't flood the sides of the cake plate which made a mess. If I had done that, the overall presentation would have been as perfect as the taste. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Zen Witch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luvlee
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Made this yesterday. It came out fabulous. Neighbors loved it! I scooped out top and bottom as I had a slight bump on the top. Just more room for the cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Owen
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I made this for my son's second birthday. I used a 6 inch cake pan for his own little personal cake and still had enough batter to make a dozen cupcakes. I did what another reviewer suggested and just stuck an icing tip through the top of the cake and filled sections with icing as well as the cupcakes. Everyone loved them. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Owen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I've made this twice, as cupcakes! (think Hostess cupcakes), once with chocolate cake mix, and once with red velvet. Delicious! For the filling, when you let the milk and flour mixture cool, put a piece of plastic wrap on top to keep it from forming a skin. Once cool, simply remove and add to the sugar/butter/shortening mixture. For cupcakes, it only needs about 1/2 the amount, so maybe make 2/3 just in case! The chocolate topping is perfect for cupcakes too, simply dunk the tops of them in the warmed frosting. The chocolate frosting will set up and not be sticky. I then used more of the filling to add the little curlicue touches on top. Serve at room temperature!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
MAJOUR WOW FACTOR!!!I LOVE this cake!!!!! Its so easy to make and tastes FANTASTIC! I have made it for a few birthday partys and mothers day occasions and it always gets rave reviews! My only suggestion is to do what another user suggested and skim off the top layer of the milk mixture after its cooled. 10 out of 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I'm asked to make this every year for my boyfriend's birthday, as he is the ultimate Ring Ding addict. Tastes just like a Ring Ding/Ding Dong! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaPetrino

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
THIS IS SOO GOOD! It is really chocolaty! Also, what i recommend is that you make the cake, let it sit overnight with the filling in the refrigerator, then in the morning, fluff up the filling and make the glaze, then serve right away. YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
It was ok - I expected something a little different I suppose. I put marange on top & that was a nice little edition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
absolutely delicious! defently will make again. everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda munsell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manito, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Can anyone tell me if this cake can be frozen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States