Giant Crisp Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Some suggestions for this recipe: You can subsitute 1/2 white sugar for brown sugar which makes them tastier! Use unsalted butter instead of butter. Which gives you the real great taste of the cookie without tasting too buttery. You can add another 1/2 cup of flour, to make the dough stay in shape better and not too sweet for those who does not like it too sweet. You can bake it longer for more crispy cookies and shorter for crispy edges and chewy middles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
If you're looking for a crispy cookie, this recipe is a very good choice. The texture is perfect, smooth and not too crispy but not soft either. I have tried over 40 CC cookie recipes, and this is one of the few chocolate chip cookie recipes that I am really pleased with. However, I would omit the salt and I used 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup light brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Nice cookie -- much too hard (the next day) for my taste, though. When I read "crisp" I thought of a thin crispy wafer kind of thing, but this was much more like a Chips Ahoy kind of chunky thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
These cookies were supposed to be for our church bazaar... I made them several days in advance.... they never made it to the bazaar!! I only made one change: I used brown sugar in place of half of the white sugar. I think it added a nice flavor you can't get from plain white sugar. Crispy/chewy because of the higher sugar, lower egg content; rich because of the walnuts. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
Excellent cookies. Very crisp with that peculiar taste that I love. Not too sweet either. They don't have brown sugar, so if you're looking for that classic chocolate chip cookie taste, this won't deliver. Still, it's a wonderful cookie with a flavor I haven't found in any of my cookie recipes before. I also found that the cookies ran together, which I didn't mind, but, if you do, make sure you place them far apart on the cookie sheet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I halved this recipe just to try it out - i should have greased the pan even though the recipe says not to bc the cookies were stuck to the pan and tooo thin. I'm not a master chef or anything so it could have been my fault but it was a disappointment after all the time i put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
I found these cookies to be PERFECT but for those who want a softer cookie use 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar. It also helps to store them in a plastic zip loc bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
These cookies sure are giant, but they're too greasy, too thin and too hard! I only made half the batch and all the cookies flattened to a thin paper so it covered the whole cookie sheet, only thing that was 3-d still were the chips itself! I still have 1/2 the other batch, I might try adding more flour to try to save it, but I'm definitely not trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2000
These cookies are yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This cookie is THE cookie for all crispy crunchy cookie fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States