Giant Crisp Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Some suggestions for this recipe: You can subsitute 1/2 white sugar for brown sugar which makes them tastier! Use unsalted butter instead of butter. Which gives you the real great taste of the cookie without tasting too buttery. You can add another 1/2 cup of flour, to make the dough stay in shape better and not too sweet for those who does not like it too sweet. You can bake it longer for more crispy cookies and shorter for crispy edges and chewy middles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
If you're looking for a crispy cookie, this recipe is a very good choice. The texture is perfect, smooth and not too crispy but not soft either. I have tried over 40 CC cookie recipes, and this is one of the few chocolate chip cookie recipes that I am really pleased with. However, I would omit the salt and I used 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup light brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Nice cookie -- much too hard (the next day) for my taste, though. When I read "crisp" I thought of a thin crispy wafer kind of thing, but this was much more like a Chips Ahoy kind of chunky thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
These cookies were supposed to be for our church bazaar... I made them several days in advance.... they never made it to the bazaar!! I only made one change: I used brown sugar in place of half of the white sugar. I think it added a nice flavor you can't get from plain white sugar. Crispy/chewy because of the higher sugar, lower egg content; rich because of the walnuts. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
Excellent cookies. Very crisp with that peculiar taste that I love. Not too sweet either. They don't have brown sugar, so if you're looking for that classic chocolate chip cookie taste, this won't deliver. Still, it's a wonderful cookie with a flavor I haven't found in any of my cookie recipes before. I also found that the cookies ran together, which I didn't mind, but, if you do, make sure you place them far apart on the cookie sheet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I halved this recipe just to try it out - i should have greased the pan even though the recipe says not to bc the cookies were stuck to the pan and tooo thin. I'm not a master chef or anything so it could have been my fault but it was a disappointment after all the time i put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
These cookies sure are giant, but they're too greasy, too thin and too hard! I only made half the batch and all the cookies flattened to a thin paper so it covered the whole cookie sheet, only thing that was 3-d still were the chips itself! I still have 1/2 the other batch, I might try adding more flour to try to save it, but I'm definitely not trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
I found these cookies to be PERFECT but for those who want a softer cookie use 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar. It also helps to store them in a plastic zip loc bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2000
These cookies are yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is the best cookies that I've tasted. I have made them twice so far. The first time I used 1 cup white 1/2 cup brown. The second time time I used 1 cup brown 1/2 cup white. This produced cookies with a slightly chewy center. I didnt change anything else in the recipe. They spread beautifully & makes 24 big cookies. Next time I will stick to 1 cup white sugar & 1/2 cup brown because I love my cookies crispy. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sembawang, North Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States