Giant Crisp Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
If you're looking for a buttery crispy chocolate chip cookie, this is it!!! I'm so happy to find a recipe that makes them like this, every time. I used 3/4 brown,3/4 white sugar, and cooked for 11 minutes. Then added some chopped pecans to second half of dough and made some chocolate pecan cookies baked @ 12 minutes. These are wonderfully crispy and warm right out of the oven. Yay! :+)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
in an attempt to make a softer, chewier cookie as opposed to the described crispy/hard cookie i followed another reviewer's advice and used 1¾ c. flour instead of 2, and baked for 13 minutes instead of 20. they get wonderfully thin and huge, and have a great buttery taste with crispy/chewy texture, but the crispier parts tasted like buttered popcorn at times. perhaps using less salt/unsalted butter as others have suggested would help. and they do get pretty crispy pretty fast, but cooking for less time and immediately storing them in a sealed container helps keep them chewier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
We have climbed ice covered mountains, crossed turbulent rivers, braved many a beast and monster to find this recipe and it was totally worth it. We have found our grail in the form of a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I got this recipe in 1981 in Better Homes & Gardens magazine, and since then I am wearing about 50 extra pounds, due to these cookies. These are SO GOOD, it's the only cookie my family will let me bake, since 1981.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I've made these twice now, the first time with real unsalted butter and they were FANTASTIC!! The second time I used margarine and they were definitely not the same and not as good. With real butter I give them five stars!! delicious light crunchy cookies. Very much like the ones made by my favorite bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Fantastic cookie! I was hesitant when I noticed there was no brown sugar in this recipe, but the CFO of my company is a fan of CRISPY cookies so I gave this a try. HUGE, huge hit! Thanks so much for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Usually I like a soft chocolate chip cookie, but there are times when I want a crisp, melt-in-your-mouth buttery chocolate chip cookie. For those times I make this cookie. It is so delicious. I have made this recipe many times and I have noticed that if I don't take my time and really mix in the baking soda that I can taste it coming through in the cookie. That is my mistake, however and not a result of this recipe or instructions. Other than that, they always turn out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenPayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wampum, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I was looking for a chocolate chip cookie recipe that didn't require brown sugar because I didn't have any, and came across this recipe which looked promising. I have never tried a chocolate chip cookie that I didn't like...until I had these. First off, they're really crispy because they're so flat, which really wasn't so bad. The bad part is that mine came out really salty. I mean REALLY salty. I'm not sure why no one else seemed to have this problem. I measured everything exactly as it listed. My four year old didn't even finish his cookie and I didn't bother making the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Sutterpants
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
uh-oh! These are TOO GOOD. Like some, I substituted some of the white sugar with brown sugar. I couldn't imagine a chocolate chip cookie without my favorite ingredient in it. I made them without chips, as preferred by my birthday boy and they were perfectly round, perfectly large and perfectly delicious! Right amount of chewy and crispy. AAA+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sutterpants

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
these are really crispy and chewy. they harden a little after being cooled, and my kids stopped eating them after they had a nibble. i divided the batter in two - one had chocolate chips (for kids), and the other had only nuts (for husband). it's weird because the ones with the nuts, stayed soft and i baked them the same time and took them out the accordingly. - although the dough was amazingly delicious, i will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States