Giant Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
These cookies are a crowd pleaser, and easily modified! To keep cookies from cooking flat, make sure to cream the butter with the sugar (don't melt your butter!) And if you have time, refrigerate the dough before baking, and between batches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse Camilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Great cookies! The first time I made them, they tasted great but came out pretty flat. The second time, I didn't have any butter so I used butter-flavored Crisco (same amount). The cookies still tasted great, but kept their shape much better and were big and thick. Food for thought. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
These cookies were very yummie. They turn out chewy and soft. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is more of a cake-like cookie than a crispy, crunchy cookie for those who have a preference. At 350, the cookies begin to brown really fast, so I lowered the temp. to 325. The dough is soft and 350 is too high of a temp. to bake at. I would suggest baking at 300-325 degrees. I don't understand why some say they have no flavor? Make sure you use salted butter. You can add a little extra salt if you would like. These are extremely flavorful and my favorite cake-like chocolate chip cookie recipe. I pressed a few M&M's into the tops of half of the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I can NOT figure out how these got ANY bad reviews. I just made mine and they have cooled and I cut one is half because it's to close to dinner....I ate the ENTIRE cookie. **head hung in shame** These are FABU and I followed the recipe to the letter. BUT....ROOM TEMP butter and eggs ladies and this is where a Kitchen-Aid mixer comes in really handy. I take my butter, sugars, eggs and vanilla and WHIP them until thick and creamy. I measured out my flour into a sieve along with my baking soda and a PINCH OF SALT (how that got omitted is a mystery to me) and sifted it together then stired in my chocolate chips and walnuts.....then dumped into my whipped butter mix and blend until MIXED ONLY! It's very important to NOT overbeat any cookie flour mixture. These came out crispy/buttery around the edges and soft in the middle. I used a BIG cookie scoop and got 8 cookies and I did NOT flatten them by the way. I hope this helps someone. These are a nice break from the Toll House recipe I normally use and I WILL make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elegantemily
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I added 1/2 tsp of salt. These cookies are great for milk-dipping! They're airy enough to soak up a lot of milk quickly, but strong enough to not fall apart in the glass. The walnuts are a nice touch. All in all, a great recipe, but not the be-all-end-all of chocolate chip cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elegantemily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Did not like. This cookie is brittle and not sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This recipie was Alright at best...they had a nice flavour but they came out very flattened...I wouldnt make them again, and I wouldnt recomend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trishherbert

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I replaced the butter with canola oil and scaled the recipe down to make one GIANT cookie for myself. Heh. Dinner of champions. It worked out wonderfully! Great texture and taste, though next time I'd probably add a touch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is the best cookie recipe ever. I have tried so many other receipes none are as good as this one. The others turned out hard not chewy. My son who is 17.5 months loves these cookies and so does his father. I make allot because everyone eats them fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States