Giant Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I make these ALL THE TIME! I am no good at making perfectly round cookies, so I put the batter into 2 round 8" or 9" cake pans. They come out perfectly round! They are even really good if you put them in the freezer (I forget how I figured this out), so next time we have a birthday at my house I am going to cook the two cookies, freeze them, put a layer of vanilla ice cream between them, decorate the top with chocolate icing and ta-dah! I will have a giant ice-cream cookie sandwitch cake! Someone else should try it (since I do not have another birthday for 6 months) and let me know how it goes! When done baking I flip them unside down on a cooling rack and then flip them back over on another so they are right side up. The presentation is great because, as I said earlier, they are perfectly round. You can also half the recipie if you only need one giant cookie... or make two and give one to a neighbor! Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
558 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
GREAT RECIPE!!! I dont understand what people are talking about as far as spillage goes. I have made this recipe 4 times and all times this cookie came out wonderful!!! maybe this tip will help - I made the dough, used a 16inch pizza pan from walmart ($4) and lined the bottom with parchment paper - then press the dough into a ball in the center - place parchment paper on top and press slightly with my hands into a circle - then i used my pampered chef rolling pin and simply rolled into a perfect circle - about 1 inch from edges. i peeled off the parchment like a dream and baked - no spillage at all - baked great, tasted great - looked professional!! thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
520 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Li
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
With the recommendations from other reviewers, the giant cookie was a BIG sucess at my nephew's B-Day party! I only used the 2 cups of flour and 1/2 tsp. salt recommended, and a little extra vanilla. Everyone thought the cookie was moist and delicious! They also thought the cookie was made by the Great American Cookies company. I imitated the frosting decoration they use on their giant cookies (see attached photo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
494 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Li

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
PLEASE READ! You MUST leave about 2 inches of room around the side for the dough to expand while cooking or it will spill over. This comes out perfectly! I used a very large pizza pan (16 inch) that I bought just for making large cookies like this and that way when I spread the dough out (not too thick), I have enough room to allow the dough to expand. I top with store bought chocolate icing and the buttercream icing from this site because I found those two types closely resemble what the mall cookies taste like. *Update* When I spread the dough on the pan, I add extra dough around the edges/side, because the cook will expand and as the cookie spreads, the edges will thin out and become more brown otherwise. Make sure to add extra dough just to the sides. Using a large pan and adding extra dough around the sides, I still have a little but of extra cookie dough leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I tried to make this recipe in 2 heart shaped pans I have for Valentine's day, and they're about 8" across. Tried to make 2 cookies, and should have made 3 as they didn't quite cook in the middle. Whatever size pan you use, I would esnsure the dough is no more than 1/4-1/2" thick. However, the recipe itself is delish and I'm sure I'll get it right next time! Will also half the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This recipe was great! Instead of putting the mix into a pizza pan i put it into 2-9 inch pie pans, which worked out great. I also heat it in the microwave for 15 seconds before eating, for a fresh baked taste! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
This cookie was amazing! Halved the recipe and baked it in a 9-inch pie pan for 18 minutes. My favorite cookie now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
This is great!!! Just as good, if not better, than the store bought ones. I followed the instructions exactly, but used half milk chocolate chips and half white chocolate chips. I also baked the cookie for approximately 18 minutes and it came out beautifully golden brown, soft and delicious! I made it for a birthday and decorated and wrote on it with cream cheese frosting. It got rave reviews and a few "this is the best cookie I have ever tasted" comments. Try this...you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Awesome, awesome, awesome! I only had a 12 1/2 inch pan...so, through trial and error, had to take some of the cookie dough out so that it didn't overflow and start my oven on fire like it did the 1st time I tried it! Oops! I took about a cup and a half of dough out for the smaller pan. To grease the pan, I used butter flavored cooking spray and it made the cookie even better. GREAT recipe - I've had it for a week and have made 4 of these cookies already for bosses (was a perfect gift for bosses day - all decorated) and friends! All got RAVE reviews! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARISITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This is a keeper. We love the cookie cakes for birthdays. Its a change from the traditional cakes. I used a 12 1/2 inch pizza pan. I took 2 cups out of the finished batter. Baked for 13 minutes at 375. Made a pan of 2 inch cookie out of the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States