Giant Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Supervisor loved it! Made a great birthday treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Awesome!! Instead of baking this in a pizza pan I used a medium cookie sheet. I omitted the nuts and baked it for about 22 minutes. I had some left over cookie dough which I just made into cookies. I refridgerated the rest of the cookie dough while the big one was baking. When it was done I baked the rest for 7 minutes. I used a buttercream icing to frost the cookie cake. I also ran out of parchment paper, so I used aluminum foil sprayed with a little bit of cooking spray. I was able to slide it right off when it cooled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susieq624

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made this cookie cake for a Super Bowl party and it was extremely popular. The cookie was soft and chewy from edges to middle, and the flavor was fantastic. I frosted it with the frosting from this recipe: Cake with Buttercream Decorating Frosting. Everyone kept going back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I've owned a Wilton Heart shaped cookie sheet for a while, and ) that I would attempt to make a cookie cake. Wow...I ended up having to add some more flour (almost a cup) to the finished dough, because even with the chips in it, it was still to "sticky" to spread. I used parchment paper and spread a very thin layer of shortening on it, to prevent it from sticking. I also ended up baking it 28 minutes. I haven't had a chance to eat it yet (made it for the hubby and kids tonight). Also- for an EASY frosting idea..just take a regular size container of vanilla frosting, and add powdered sugar to it until it's piping consistency =) It's what I use ALL the time for my piped sugar cookies, and it's LOVED by all! Will post later about the taste =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I made this last Monday because we were craving cookies but I wasn't in the mood to go through the trouble of making pan after pan of individual cookies, and I had this recipe I wanted to try for family parties. My oldest son and husband absolutely loved this! My only problem was my fault...I used a round pizza pan smaller than the one suggested, and the cookie dough melted and expanded and overflowed the pan into my oven. I was guessing at the size pizza pan I had on hand, and was apparently off by a few inches! But, the mess was surprisingly easy to clean up and didn't affect the finished product at all. The cookie was soft and chewy and buttery. My husband said it would be perfect served warm with vanilla ice cream, and my son just keeps asking me to make it again. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florida Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I can't actually comment about this recipe because of the disaster it created in my oven. DON'T USE PIZZA PANS with the HOLES in them!! It didn't even occur to me that this could be problematic but it very much was. Little bits of dough fell to the bottom of the oven almost immediately. It was smoking within 3 minutes. This, then, created a super-preheat scenario in the oven that then made the cookie too brown. In case you didn't think about the potential issues that would come with a perforated pizza pan--DON'T USE A PERFORATED PIZZA PAN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I have actually made these big cookies before and they are delicious, but for the big cookie, I would love a recipe that is more like the store-bought version. Still, these are super delicious and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Love it! It was a big hit at my sister's birthday party! We were sad when it was all gone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This recipe is the BOMB exactly as is it! I make this all the time and it is 100 times better than the ones from the mall!I never will eat another one from any cookie company!I double the recipe and put it in a 16" cake pan and bake for 28 minutes at 375. The cookie comes out nice and thick! If you treat the pan before putting the dough in, it will come right out after cooling for a while. I use a mixture of equal parts canola oil, shortening, and flour, mixed well till no more lumps and use a pastry brush to brush it lightly into the pan! Works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this in 2 9-inch cake pans, using Nestle's dark chocolate chips and added 1/4-1/3 c. ground pecans to the batter instead of chopped nuts. It came out just right, soft and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States