Giant Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I made this for two cousins who are leaving for college and it was well received. On my first attempt, I used two 9 inch cake rounds and the cookie cake tasted good, but the texture was off because there was too much batter in each pan. The second time I tried this recipe, I used a large rectangular cookie sheet and left about two inches around the edges for the cake to spread. I baked it at 350 for 22 minutes; the edges got hard and crispy, so I just cut them off and was able to shape the cake neatly this way. It looked nice and tasted good, though it was a little dry. I followed the ingredients closely aside from omitting walnuts and adding an extra teaspoon of vanilla. Everyone ate it and said it was good and I'd definitely use it again for cookie cakes, but I'd maybe look for a way to make it a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This recipe deserves 4.5 stars. The cookie dough is delicious, and i especially love that it included walnuts! Yummy! I took the advice of one reviewer and made two cookies in 9" cake pans. I simply followed the recipe exactly as it stated, then divided the dough evenly amongst 2 cake pans, pressed it down all the way to the edges of the pans, and baked them for about 19 minutes. I didn't know if the cookies would turn out okay since I am in a high altitude city and there wasn't a high altitude variation, but the consistency of the giant cookies were great! I froze the cookies, then stacked them on top of each other, adding a thick layer of chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream between them for a friend's birthday. While the flavor was incredible, freezing the cookies did make them rather hard/difficult to cut through. I thawed it outside of the freezer for 35 minutes before serving, and it was still a difficult eating it with a fork. If you want to make the giant cookie-ice cream-cake like I did, I would recommend making only half the cookie dough to divide among the two cake pans, so that the cookies are less thick and therefore easier to cut through when frozen. Also, be sure to let the ice cream soften before spreading it between the layers to make assembling it easier and less time consuming. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgfaison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
It was hard to roll out and it didn't cook in the center and burned on the outer edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was good although a little dry around the edges with the long cooking time - and I undercooked it. But my oven runs hot so that could have been the whole problem. Also, all this is is the Toll House chocolate chip cookies recipe, just made into one big cookie instead of lots of little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abbyschmid3
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is soo good! This cookie cake melts in your mouth and is a PERFECT dessert!! After one bite I wanted to eat the entire cake! I made no changes other than using gluten free flour instead of regular flour. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbyschmid3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is a great giant cookie recipe. I made this for my sons birthday and he loved it. I used the recommendation of 2cups flour and 1/2 tsp of salt and a little extra vanilla. I also left a little room around the edges. Worked out great.. No "spillage" I then topped with buttercream frosting recipe from this site. This cookie was very moist and tasty.. I will definitely be making this one again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stashley
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is a very sweet and good cookie. I added some white choco chips along with the semi sweet standard into the mix to change it up a little. I baked these in a cake pan and all 3 came out perfect! I iced the top and the kids went nuts with different toppings until they had their own creations. We cut them with a pizza slicer when they wanted a piece because they are so big!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Yummy, this was really good. I made it in a smaller heart shaped pan, so it was really thick and delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This is wonderful. My husband's favorite. I do as another reviewer said and leave about an inch along the edge for it to expand. Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 425) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States