Giant Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I've owned a Wilton Heart shaped cookie sheet for a while, and ) that I would attempt to make a cookie cake. Wow...I ended up having to add some more flour (almost a cup) to the finished dough, because even with the chips in it, it was still to "sticky" to spread. I used parchment paper and spread a very thin layer of shortening on it, to prevent it from sticking. I also ended up baking it 28 minutes. I haven't had a chance to eat it yet (made it for the hubby and kids tonight). Also- for an EASY frosting idea..just take a regular size container of vanilla frosting, and add powdered sugar to it until it's piping consistency =) It's what I use ALL the time for my piped sugar cookies, and it's LOVED by all! Will post later about the taste =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I made this last Monday because we were craving cookies but I wasn't in the mood to go through the trouble of making pan after pan of individual cookies, and I had this recipe I wanted to try for family parties. My oldest son and husband absolutely loved this! My only problem was my fault...I used a round pizza pan smaller than the one suggested, and the cookie dough melted and expanded and overflowed the pan into my oven. I was guessing at the size pizza pan I had on hand, and was apparently off by a few inches! But, the mess was surprisingly easy to clean up and didn't affect the finished product at all. The cookie was soft and chewy and buttery. My husband said it would be perfect served warm with vanilla ice cream, and my son just keeps asking me to make it again. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florida Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I can't actually comment about this recipe because of the disaster it created in my oven. DON'T USE PIZZA PANS with the HOLES in them!! It didn't even occur to me that this could be problematic but it very much was. Little bits of dough fell to the bottom of the oven almost immediately. It was smoking within 3 minutes. This, then, created a super-preheat scenario in the oven that then made the cookie too brown. In case you didn't think about the potential issues that would come with a perforated pizza pan--DON'T USE A PERFORATED PIZZA PAN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I have actually made these big cookies before and they are delicious, but for the big cookie, I would love a recipe that is more like the store-bought version. Still, these are super delicious and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Love it! It was a big hit at my sister's birthday party! We were sad when it was all gone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This recipe is the BOMB exactly as is it! I make this all the time and it is 100 times better than the ones from the mall!I never will eat another one from any cookie company!I double the recipe and put it in a 16" cake pan and bake for 28 minutes at 375. The cookie comes out nice and thick! If you treat the pan before putting the dough in, it will come right out after cooling for a while. I use a mixture of equal parts canola oil, shortening, and flour, mixed well till no more lumps and use a pastry brush to brush it lightly into the pan! Works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this in 2 9-inch cake pans, using Nestle's dark chocolate chips and added 1/4-1/3 c. ground pecans to the batter instead of chopped nuts. It came out just right, soft and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This tasted just like the cookies you find at mall cookie companies. I followed the recipe exactly, and had perfect results. I turned it into an activity with my 3 and 5 yr old kids, and they had a blast. We called it "the world's biggest cookie" and they were fascinated. We kept the decorating simple and put a few red and green sprinkles on for the holidays. I will definitely make this again, possibly for my son's birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
leave 1" edge around pizza pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EyeLoveFood
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
AWESOME! I omitted the walnuts and baking soda, and added one tsp of baking powder instead!! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States