Ghoraiybah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
My Egyptian husband loved it, but definitely double the cardamom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This is a lovely cookie recipe. I did not use the almonds on each cookie. Some of them I left plain and a few others I dressed up with turbinado sugar. The recipe made approximately 60 cookies. I rolled them into balls and flattened them. The flavour is amazing. I baked them for 6-8 minutes. I guess mine were smaller. The next time I may add more cardamom. This will be a great Thanksgiving and Christmas addition. Thank you ladyheather06.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
DELICIOUS! I love cardamom and I love butter cookies so this is the perfect match for me. In my second batch, I pre-toasted the almonds and that made them much more crunchy and yummy in the cookies. The only funny think is that my Egyptian husband says these are nothing like "actual" ghoraiybah. Oh well, I suppose it could be a regional difference. Whatever it is, I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Excellent cookie, exactly what I was looking for! My kids love them too, and they kept well for a week in a closed container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These are excellent. I added 1/8 C brown sugar, some vanilla and use 1/2 T of cardamom, and only needed to cook mine 15 minutes, and they are sooo tasty! yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I followed the recipe, grinding my own cardamom and leaving off the almonds. This isn't a sweet cookie, but it's great with tea or coffee - crispy, light, and nicely spiced. A cookie press makes for a very pretty presentation. Next time I'll add some rosewater or orange blossom water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly and these were WONDERFUL! Nice and crisp, light, and melt in your mouth. Great while still a bit warm from the oven. Mmmmm... Would be wonderful dunked in coffee or milk too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
The traditional way of making ghoraybah is by adding a few drops of Arak (lebanese spirit). It gives it such a distinct flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I was short on time but desperately wanted to try this, so I made a double batch and treated it like my favorite shortbread recipe--I pressed the dough into a 15" jelly roll pan lined with foil, baked for 35 min. For the double batch I used a heaping tablespoon (yes, TABLEspoon) of ground cardamom. (I did not add brown sugar or vanilla as others have suggested, just upped the spice. It doesn't need it, really!) It turned out very well, though I think I may add even more cardamom next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States