Ghoraiybah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
My Egyptian husband loved it, but definitely double the cardamom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This is a lovely cookie recipe. I did not use the almonds on each cookie. Some of them I left plain and a few others I dressed up with turbinado sugar. The recipe made approximately 60 cookies. I rolled them into balls and flattened them. The flavour is amazing. I baked them for 6-8 minutes. I guess mine were smaller. The next time I may add more cardamom. This will be a great Thanksgiving and Christmas addition. Thank you ladyheather06.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
DELICIOUS! I love cardamom and I love butter cookies so this is the perfect match for me. In my second batch, I pre-toasted the almonds and that made them much more crunchy and yummy in the cookies. The only funny think is that my Egyptian husband says these are nothing like "actual" ghoraiybah. Oh well, I suppose it could be a regional difference. Whatever it is, I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Excellent cookie, exactly what I was looking for! My kids love them too, and they kept well for a week in a closed container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These are excellent. I added 1/8 C brown sugar, some vanilla and use 1/2 T of cardamom, and only needed to cook mine 15 minutes, and they are sooo tasty! yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I followed the recipe, grinding my own cardamom and leaving off the almonds. This isn't a sweet cookie, but it's great with tea or coffee - crispy, light, and nicely spiced. A cookie press makes for a very pretty presentation. Next time I'll add some rosewater or orange blossom water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly and these were WONDERFUL! Nice and crisp, light, and melt in your mouth. Great while still a bit warm from the oven. Mmmmm... Would be wonderful dunked in coffee or milk too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
The traditional way of making ghoraybah is by adding a few drops of Arak (lebanese spirit). It gives it such a distinct flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I was short on time but desperately wanted to try this, so I made a double batch and treated it like my favorite shortbread recipe--I pressed the dough into a 15" jelly roll pan lined with foil, baked for 35 min. For the double batch I used a heaping tablespoon (yes, TABLEspoon) of ground cardamom. (I did not add brown sugar or vanilla as others have suggested, just upped the spice. It doesn't need it, really!) It turned out very well, though I think I may add even more cardamom next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
These were delicious. I added 1 heaping teaspoon as suggested in other reviews, but I didn't find it was enough when tasting the uncooked batter, so I added more. I sorta dropped the bottle in!!! I got some out, but all in all, I probably had the approximate amout of 1 tablespoon and they were perfect. I do NOT think they need any extra sugar (as suggested), they are plenty sweet as is. I rolled out the dough and used a cookie cutter. They came out nice after 15 mins of baking, but they were probably thinner than in the original recipe (yield was of 24 and I got 37). I didn't add any almonds. I also don't think it is necessary to grease the cookie tray. They have tons of butter already. I lined mine with parchement paper and when I took it out of the oven, the paper was dreanched with oil. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burgz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States