Ghirardelli® Peppermint Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I've turned these brownies into my specialty at my essential oil parties. Instead of adding peppermint extract, use a high quality peppermint essential oil like doTERRA's. I add 2-3 drops to the batter, depending on how strong you like them. Fantastic! Everyone asks for the recipe! I also leave out the peppermint candies. Peppermint EO has a smooth taste that also happens to be very good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
We really liked these brownies! I didn't have a 9x9 square, so I put them in my 8x8...I don't think I would do that again...they were REALLY thick. I increased the baking time by 10 min, and they were still a little underdone. I think I would put them in a biscuit pan next time. They taste yummy, but they're not the nice slim looking brownie in the picture...they were more like cake size! But really yummy and fudgy good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Huge pain to cut. delish, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
A tip for those who had trouble getting the brownies out of the pan. When you bake brownies in a square pan, take a long-ish piece of foil and line the pan with it. Then, do it again after rotating the pan 90 degrees. Be as careful as you can to avoid holes as you smooth into the corners. Spray with cooking spray or baking spray (the amazing spray with flour that I always use if the recipe calls for greasing and flouring the pan). That way, you'll have two handles when it is time to remove the brownies from the pan. The edges of your brownies aren't very neat, but I just cut those off and save them for my hubby and kids. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Excellent brownies! They got rave reviews at my annual cookie party and later at work! I must admit that I made a few additions... I added an extra shot of peppermint schnapps, extra mint chocolate chips to the brownie batter, and I crumbled the Dark Chocolate pieces and sprinkled them across the top (I'm not a big fan of frosting on brownies). They came out oooey & gooey and OH SO GOOD! Great for the holidays! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These brownies were really good- extra minty. I had problems getting them out of the pan, even though I greased the pan. They seemed to crumble from the inside. Will definitely bake these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These brownies were really good! They were hard to get out of the pan without ruining the brownie, so grease your pan well. I also think that the actual presentation of the brownies with the candy cane is better than the taste of them. I just didn't like getting chunks of candy can stuck in my teeth as I was eating them. My boyfriend loved them though, and I'll probably make them again. Definitely a good holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These are VERY rich...so if you are a chocolate lover this is definitely for you. The Ghirardelli makes a world of difference for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very yummy! These brownies are easy, delectable and pretty! The brownies are very fudgy, so don't overbake them like I did. The recipe said to bake them until a tester comes out clean. Well, I ended up baking them an extra 8 minutes and the toothpick still wasn't clean. I took them out anyways and after they cooled I realized that I had overbaked them. So my recommendation is to bake them for 45 minutes and just take them out, don't test them. The only other problem was that the "frosting" separated where the mint layer was, so be sure to get the melted chocolate layers all mixed together when spreading. Otherwise, these are rich and delicious! A great addition to your holiday cookie tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I made these brownies for christmas at my boyfriends parents house. I followed the directions to a T, I baked the brownies MAYBE 10 hours before we had dinner and they were ROCK SOLID. Only some of the brownies in the middle of the pan were SEMI soft. I greased the pan and it was so hard it stuck to the pan. I felt the melting of the chocolate was perfect and creamy but when you bite into it it was ROCK SOLID. Overall I wouldn't make this recipe again, I am easy to please and this recipe let me down. The taste was good nothing special, but was embarrassment for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marissa_garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States