Ghirardelli Milk Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This it the only chocolate chip cookie recipe I use. Everytime I make it and give some cookies to other people, they rave about how good they are. Ghirardelli semi sweet chocolate chips make the taste difference in this recipe. I have tried using other popular chocolate chip brands as a substitute when my local grocery store was out of Ghirardelli and the cookies did not taste as good. The only time my cookies were too soft was when my butter melted too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone Alexander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
These taste ok but look awful. They flatten out and are very brown. I like a thicker chewier cookie. If I were to make these again I would add some flour to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe so much! Its crispy and yummy.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Flat even after adding 1/2 cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traviskatrinacheek

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Flat and greasy. Not my ideal cookie and my 5 year old hated them. Definitely needs more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Made these for the first time the other day as I had a bag of chips in the cupboard. Never used 2t of vanilla before just the standard tollhouse recipe and these were fantastic. Mine only made 36 cookies as I made walnut size balls and baked that way. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
My husband (the dough tester) was convinced I screwed this one up. (by the batter taste) I thought it tasted overly sweet, also. When I cooked the first batch it was doughy... "greesy"? I over-baked the rest and chilled it. They wer ok after sitting but iv had better. At least my husband wouldn't be eating all the batter with these:) happy baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
While I definitely prefer using semi-sweet chocolate chips, the milk chocolate ones were decent in a cookie. Also, my rule with many cookie recipes that have a higher butter to flour ratio is: always add 1/4-1/2 cup of additional flour, or until the cookie dough is stiff. This way, the cookies come out of the oven thicker. Unless, of course, you like thin and crispy cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kneads Speed Runner

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Boo Hiss. Cookies turned out flat and gushy. We had to eat them with a spoon over ice cream. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
These are my favorite choc. chip cookies but I did make a couple of changes. I always use 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup of shortening. I also add a little extra flour to the dough. I have also played around with the nuts and found slivered almonds make a great cookie! I have never had these to be flat or greasy. My husband is not a huge fan of big chunks of chocolate in his cookies, so I chop the chocolate up into very fine peces and increase the amount of nuts. Great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States