Ghirardelli Milk Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
These are a great cookie overall. I often use milk chocolate chips in my cookies and I recently bought Ghiradelli chocolate chips so I decided to give these a try. The only change I made was to use salted butter instead of unsalted. Two cups of Ghiradelli Milk Chocolate Chips equals the whole 11.5 ounce bag, just so you know. I was skeptical with the high baking temperature of 375 so I only baked two cookies to try it out. I found they brown too much, too fast around the sides and remain doughy in the middle. You may want to adjust your baking temperature for this recipe. I baked mine the second time after freezing my dough into balls at 325 for about 15-17 minutes and the cookie baked to a nice golden brown all over and ended up to be the perfect cookie. This recipe cal also be found on the back of the Ghiradelli Milk Chocolate Chip bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I only keep salted butter on hand so I used that and eliminated the extra salt. I made no other changes, other than using organic ingredients where I could. I did chill the dough for an hour or so (I made the dough this morning while the kids ate breakfast, then set it in the fridge until I got back from taking my older boy to school.) I used fine chopped pecans. These baked up really nicely. 350* for 10 minutes was just right for me. Next time, I might use half extra dark chocolate chips when I make this recipe. I think that would be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I read the other reviews after I made the recipe & these cookies came out plump & tasty. I didn't refrigerate the dough but I did mix the sugar/butter combo until really light & fluffy with my mixer then added all the other ingredients. I used the unsalted butter; but because I had no vanilla extract I substituted Frangelico liquor in its place that gives it a small hazelnut flavor. These cookies came out beautiful & tasty ... And 9 min at 350F on darked cookie sheet; 10 min on lighter cookie sheet; cookies came out delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Made these for the first time the other day as I had a bag of chips in the cupboard. Never used 2t of vanilla before just the standard tollhouse recipe and these were fantastic. Mine only made 36 cookies as I made walnut size balls and baked that way. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
These are my favorite choc. chip cookies but I did make a couple of changes. I always use 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup of shortening. I also add a little extra flour to the dough. I have also played around with the nuts and found slivered almonds make a great cookie! I have never had these to be flat or greasy. My husband is not a huge fan of big chunks of chocolate in his cookies, so I chop the chocolate up into very fine peces and increase the amount of nuts. Great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe so much! Its crispy and yummy.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I really loved these. I understand it's a *standard* cookie, I felt it held up to what chocolate chip cookies should be. I mixed a day ahead, and did include pecans. I used a cookie scoop the day of, and thru baking, they held their shape pretty well. I will definitely do these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
While I definitely prefer using semi-sweet chocolate chips, the milk chocolate ones were decent in a cookie. Also, my rule with many cookie recipes that have a higher butter to flour ratio is: always add 1/4-1/2 cup of additional flour, or until the cookie dough is stiff. This way, the cookies come out of the oven thicker. Unless, of course, you like thin and crispy cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kneads Speed Runner

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
My husband (the dough tester) was convinced I screwed this one up. (by the batter taste) I thought it tasted overly sweet, also. When I cooked the first batch it was doughy... "greesy"? I over-baked the rest and chilled it. They wer ok after sitting but iv had better. At least my husband wouldn't be eating all the batter with these:) happy baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
These taste ok but look awful. They flatten out and are very brown. I like a thicker chewier cookie. If I were to make these again I would add some flour to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States