Ghirardelli Milk Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
As I looked over this recipe I noticed that while it looked like a fairly standard chocolate chip recipe on its surface, it had less flour than most. Even tho’ I was somewhat concerned that this would impact the texture and thickness in a negative way (i.e. greasy and flat) I decided to take a chance on it. I mixed up the dough as directed and refrigerated it for an hour or so until it became somewhat firm. And just to substantiate my initial concern, they did turn out greasy and flat. Or maybe I should say, “very buttery and not as thick as I would like.” Remembering sooo many years ago when I tried the original Nestle Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe and disliked it for the same reasons (greasy and flat), curiosity got to me and I looked up that recipe and…sure enough, except for an additional teaspoon of vanilla, this Ghiradelli recipe is the exact same recipe! No wonder I disliked these cookies so much! It’s the cookie I’ve ALWAYS disliked. In fairness I should add, however, that the Nestle Toll House recipe is a classic that has stood the test of time, perhaps because the flavor can’t be beat. And that there are plenty of people who LIKE their chocolate chip cookies greasy and flat, er, I mean, very buttery and thin. So, bottom line: for those who do not like the kind of cookie I’ve described, either try adding another ½ cup of flour or moving on to a different recipe. If, on the other hand, you love the Nestle Toll House recipe, you’ll love this one too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Watch OUT! I have been baking with my Mum and Granny since I was 5 years old and never have I messed up a chocolate chip cookie as badly as this! When I opened the oven my jaw dropped... they were as flat as pancakes, totally greasy, and when they cooled they were crispy like peanut brittle. My baking ego was completely destroyed! But I fixed it :) I mixed in 1/3 cup flour and 1/2 cup rolled oats to the remaining batter and refrigerated it. Came out perfect. I expected that a recipe off the back of a package of chocolate chips would be fool-proof... I'll know better for next time. There are much better recipes out there - tastier, more interesting, and healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I really loved these. I understand it's a *standard* cookie, I felt it held up to what chocolate chip cookies should be. I mixed a day ahead, and did include pecans. I used a cookie scoop the day of, and thru baking, they held their shape pretty well. I will definitely do these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I only keep salted butter on hand so I used that and eliminated the extra salt. I made no other changes, other than using organic ingredients where I could. I did chill the dough for an hour or so (I made the dough this morning while the kids ate breakfast, then set it in the fridge until I got back from taking my older boy to school.) I used fine chopped pecans. These baked up really nicely. 350* for 10 minutes was just right for me. Next time, I might use half extra dark chocolate chips when I make this recipe. I think that would be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
These are my favorite choc. chip cookies but I did make a couple of changes. I always use 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup of shortening. I also add a little extra flour to the dough. I have also played around with the nuts and found slivered almonds make a great cookie! I have never had these to be flat or greasy. My husband is not a huge fan of big chunks of chocolate in his cookies, so I chop the chocolate up into very fine peces and increase the amount of nuts. Great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I read the other reviews after I made the recipe & these cookies came out plump & tasty. I didn't refrigerate the dough but I did mix the sugar/butter combo until really light & fluffy with my mixer then added all the other ingredients. I used the unsalted butter; but because I had no vanilla extract I substituted Frangelico liquor in its place that gives it a small hazelnut flavor. These cookies came out beautiful & tasty ... And 9 min at 350F on darked cookie sheet; 10 min on lighter cookie sheet; cookies came out delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Boo Hiss. Cookies turned out flat and gushy. We had to eat them with a spoon over ice cream. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
These are a great cookie overall. I often use milk chocolate chips in my cookies and I recently bought Ghiradelli chocolate chips so I decided to give these a try. The only change I made was to use salted butter instead of unsalted. Two cups of Ghiradelli Milk Chocolate Chips equals the whole 11.5 ounce bag, just so you know. I was skeptical with the high baking temperature of 375 so I only baked two cookies to try it out. I found they brown too much, too fast around the sides and remain doughy in the middle. You may want to adjust your baking temperature for this recipe. I baked mine the second time after freezing my dough into balls at 325 for about 15-17 minutes and the cookie baked to a nice golden brown all over and ended up to be the perfect cookie. This recipe cal also be found on the back of the Ghiradelli Milk Chocolate Chip bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
While I definitely prefer using semi-sweet chocolate chips, the milk chocolate ones were decent in a cookie. Also, my rule with many cookie recipes that have a higher butter to flour ratio is: always add 1/4-1/2 cup of additional flour, or until the cookie dough is stiff. This way, the cookies come out of the oven thicker. Unless, of course, you like thin and crispy cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kneads Speed Runner

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
My husband (the dough tester) was convinced I screwed this one up. (by the batter taste) I thought it tasted overly sweet, also. When I cooked the first batch it was doughy... "greesy"? I over-baked the rest and chilled it. They wer ok after sitting but iv had better. At least my husband wouldn't be eating all the batter with these:) happy baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States