Ghirardelli® Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made these according to the instructions given they were excellent. They held together well. After reading other comments I was careful to press the topping ingredients down into the bottom layer quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I made mine a little different, I wanted to cut down on some of the sugar. Not a big fan of sweetened condensed milk -- it's just TOO sweet. However, this is the glue that holds it altogether. Here's what I did: for the crust I used 1 stick of melted butter and 2 cups of graham cracker crumbs, combined in a bowl and pressed into my 9x13 sprayed with non-stick spray pan, then I drizzled the sweeten condensed milk down the length of the pan and again width wise. I probably used no more than half the can. Then I proceeded to add my walnuts, MINI chocolate chips, and coconut. After each new addition I pressed them down into the crust. I didn't measure the nuts, chocolate chips, or coconut...just sprinkled an even layer with each. I chose mini chocolate chips because I felt they would stick better. I baked it for 25 min. I allowed them to finish cooling in the fridge. I cut them an hour or so later and they cut nice. They hold up well! So you don't have to use the WHOLE can of milk. I want it to be sweet but not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
YUMMM! I made these omitting the nuts and coconut (allergies) but since it's fall I mixed 1/2 cup pumpkin and some pumpkin pie spice into the the evaporated milk before pouring onto grahams. So delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kandyb23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I haven't tried this particular recipe myself, but my cousin makes these EVERY Christmas, they always disappear without fail, I had to fight her sister's fiance' just to get some for my mother they disappeared in less then five minutes after my cousin arrived at my aunt's house. They are SO good, I avoided them for years until recently because I hadn't been a big coconut fan... But with age comes wisdom. I have SEEN THE LIGHT! Long live coconut and long live "Magic Squares"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Love this, I used Ritz crackers instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbritzius

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This is one of my all time favorite treat recipes and the go to dessert in our house because we always keep the ingredients on hand. The only time I actually measured was the first time I made it; once you have the butter, graham crackers, and sweetened condensed milk down you can just throw whatever you want on top. Any combo of nuts, chips, candy pieces, marshmallows, etc will work. I just eyeball the amounts until it all looks good, and we've never had a result that everyone didn't love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megamuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I found this recipe very greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EskimoMommy2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I LOVE this recipe!!! I have followed it to the letter in the past but recently have made the following changes: I use about 2 cups of graham cracker crumbs and put the crackers in the blender...it saves your arm and its quick:) I also increase the coconut to 1 3/4cup 1/2cup white chocolate chips 1/2cup semi-sweet chocolate chips 1 cup peanut butter chips SO GOOD!!! Another variation I use is the same changes w/ crumbs and coconut but use 1 cup white chocolate chips 1 cup butterscotch chips Also, very good, but I prefer the peanut butter one;) This recipe is very easy to fool around with so try your own variations, you pretty much can't go wrong! I have also added a tsp. of vanilla extract to the condensed milk and that is great as well:) Have fun and post your variations for all of us to try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I would decrease slightly the chocolate chips and add about 3/4 cup of butterscotch chips. This is a wonderful bar cookie, very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hickmanl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Tiramisu Cups

See how to make amazing mini tiramisu treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States