Ghirardelli® Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is a classic! I mean what's not to like -anytime you have chocolate chips combined with nuts and coconut it's bound to be good. And, there's really virtually nothing you can do to mess it up. It's straightforward and all the ingredients come together to compliment each other. I crushed my graham crackers by putting them into a ziploc bag and going over them with a rolling pin. I used a throw away baking tin to bake these in that I sprayed with a little Pam so nothing would stick. I followed the recipe exactly using chopped walnuts for the nuts as that's what I had on hand. These were so easy and oh so delectable! Ya just gotta love Ghirardelli chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
My mom made these all the time when I was growing up (we called them Hello Dollies) and now I make them for my family as well. They are easy and delicious! Very rich, so we cut them into small bite sized squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Been making these my whole life and they are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
My mom makes these every year, but only during the holiday season. They always go fast at our house. The only thing we do differently is use cornflake crumbs instead of graham cracker crumbs. It cuts the sweetness a little bit and makes them just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Childhood staple! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azalea's mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This is an old recipe that I have from the '60s that was called Hello Dollies. It has always been a family favorite and I am sure the use of Ghiradelli chocolate verses regular chocolate chips just adds to the deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
My mom made these when I was a kid, these are amazingly delicisous. lol, but my mom called them Idiot bars! her and my dad divorced and these were his favorite ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
You can also add peanut butter chips,or butterscotch chips to the recipe. My Mom used to make these all of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I have made these cookies for over 30 years. (With whatever brand chocolate chips I have on hand.) They are so easy, and totally addictive. The condensed milk, combined with the real butter, holds it all together and imparts a lovely caramel undertone to the whole concoction. For best taste, use real butter. Delicious, easy cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Yummy!!! I grew up calling these Hello Dollys. Used pecans for the nuts and it was heaven in a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Tiramisu Cups

See how to make amazing mini tiramisu treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States