Ghirardelli® Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I made these just the other day for a city swim meet where I serve about 300 people in the course of a weekend. They disappear faster than any other baked good offered throughout the weekend! If you are not a coconut lover, YOU WILL BE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Tesch-Loran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This was a good recipe, however theres a few things I had issues with, first in Canada our condensed milk is labeled by mL not FLOZ. and its 300 mL cans which is less than 14 fl oz but two would be too much. Also way too much chocolate on it for us so next time would half that, other than that it was very good, used walnuts as our nuts and liked those. 1 1/3 cup of coconut is way too much I dont even think i used a full cup and it was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoSensGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Two suggestions that I love: 1) replace half the chocolate chips with butterscotch chips and 2) cut into large squares, top with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and drizzle with caramel and chocolate sauce... looks amazing and has always gotten great comments from our dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Yummy!!! I grew up calling these Hello Dollys. Used pecans for the nuts and it was heaven in a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I have made these cookies for over 30 years. (With whatever brand chocolate chips I have on hand.) They are so easy, and totally addictive. The condensed milk, combined with the real butter, holds it all together and imparts a lovely caramel undertone to the whole concoction. For best taste, use real butter. Delicious, easy cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
You can also add peanut butter chips,or butterscotch chips to the recipe. My Mom used to make these all of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
My mom made these when I was a kid, these are amazingly delicisous. lol, but my mom called them Idiot bars! her and my dad divorced and these were his favorite ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This is an old recipe that I have from the '60s that was called Hello Dollies. It has always been a family favorite and I am sure the use of Ghiradelli chocolate verses regular chocolate chips just adds to the deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
My mom made these all the time when I was growing up (we called them Hello Dollies) and now I make them for my family as well. They are easy and delicious! Very rich, so we cut them into small bite sized squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Childhood staple! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azalea's mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Tiramisu Cups

See how to make amazing mini tiramisu treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States