Ghirardelli® Individual Chocolate Lava Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was my very first attempt at making lava cake, and it came out terrific! It's super easy, and even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I also found this recipe in Good Housekeeping a few years ago. They are so easy and come out right every time. The other recipes that do not have the center can be very tricky to get done just right--basically they are an undercooked cake--this one is not. When I make chocolate ganache for cake or cupcakes, I make a little extra, then scoop it into balls and store them in the freezer. That way they are always ready when I want to make these lava cakes! It's really too messy to roll them in your warm hands, so I use a spoon (a melon baller would work too). Sometimes I mix in a little frambois to flavor the center. A raspberry coulie squirted or dabbled on the plate with the fresh raspberries and a sprig of mint (served on a white plate of course) makes a gorgeous presentation. I do not use the whipped cream because it leaves a heavy taste in the mouth. These cakes are very, very easily reheated in the microwave (in the cups) for just a few seconds. They come out like freshly baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I didn't have ramikens and made these in regular cupcake paper with a cupcake tin pan. My grandsons loved them. The "lava" didn't flow out, but was gooey and soft. After they cooled, I would put them in the microwave for 9 seconds and my grandsons gobbled them up. Will make again and forego purchasing ramikens. The lava is a little difficult to work with as it melts in the hands so you have to work quickly, but these are well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
These came out good, and were very easy to make. I think my ramekins were bigger than 4 oz, because I had enough batter for 4 cakes. I reduced the temp to 375 and baked for 18 minutes, because of the larger size. I personally do not like dark chocolate, so next time I may eat this with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream, or use milk chocolate for the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This dessert presents so well and tastes even better. Probably the best dessert I've ever had, and it looks like a million bucks. I served it with a raspberry sauce drizzled on the plate, a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a sprig of mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Lusciously good. I'll deifnitely make these again...yum. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I've made this many times, following directions (although not always Ghirardelli chocolate) and it's really good. I always get compliments on it. Much better than the mix you buy which I grabbed once as I needed a quick dessert and knew I didn't have everything at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
SIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Try adding coffee liqueur to the "lava" creamy center of this cake like Kahlua. Or other possibilities are Bailey's Irish creme or even a touch raspberry extract. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Great recipe. I made some modifications that worked great. First, I used a nice bittersweet chocolate not 60% to tone it down a little. I let the filling harden overnight which was much easier to deal with the next day. Next, I doubled the recipe for cake (filling too) and made them in muffin tins. I made 18 mini cakes filling them about 2/3rds full and baking them for about 12 minutes. I let them cool and flipped them out of the pan. The center tends to cave just a bit. I made fresh cinnamon whip cream and raspberries to fill in the dent. It was a hit! No left overs or sad faces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEACEMEL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States